Vanilla Ice Cream VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
This is excellent homemade ice cream. I prefer the cooked kind just because of the scare of uncooked eggs. I did splurge on the vanilla beans and think it was worth it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Easy recipe to follow, the result is genuine frozen custard! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
This recipe was awesome. My family loved it. didn't change a thing. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Wonderful but you must double the recipe to get a full batch. I cut down on the eggs when doubled i use only 16 eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This was an easy recipe to prepare & the tastiest vanilla I've ever had! I hate vanilla, finding it bland & flavorless, but this was just scrumptious & *really* thick, just like a frozen custard should be. The only problem I had was my Cook's Essentials ice cream maker had trouble handling it because of how thick it froze up, I even split it into 2 batches. I'll need to buy a better maker just so I can keep making this! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This ice cream was really good. We liked it much better than the highly rated Vanilla Ice Cream IV. I didn't have a vanilla bean so I just doubled the vanilla extract and it came out wonderful. This is defiantly the best vanilla homemade ice cream that I have tried from this site. Thanks Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This is WORTH the 'trouble'!!! I am on a low sugar diet by choice (which we all should be) and I made this ice cream with Splenda* brand alternative sweetener. It goes thru your system, and does not get absorbed into the blood stream, because your body mistakes it for something unabsorbable, like dietary fiber. It's fabulous. And, like the jingles claim, it does taste just like sugar. Anyhow, you've got to be really careful not to let the custard boil. If you use medium heat all through the recipie, it'll boil at some point. After seeing the first few 'boils' in the cream mix, take it off the heat and immediately turn the stove down to medium-low. Half way to medium. Then, watch it carefully, and stir OFTEN. I found that it is thick enough to 'coat the back of a spoon' in it's plain cream mix form, but when the final custard has been cooking for 3 or 5 minutes, and it does seem nice and thick to you, it's done. If you have a newer 'ice-less' ice cream mixer, and you are going to be using online recipes, you should definately find out what the capacity of your freezer bowl is. I have the Cuisinart ICE-20, and any recipe with a total of roughly 2 1/2 to 3 cups of dairy products in it is definately going to fill it up. Don't forget how ice cream seems to double in volume when it is freezing up. If the recipe seems too big, take advantage of allrecipe's fabulous scaling option at the bottom of the main recipe page. Just tweak it until the cuppage is correct for your mixer. Also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
To make your ice cream more creamy let the ice cream base sit overnight in the fridge. The next day it will be vanilla sauce/pudding like. This is a great, creamy ice cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This ice cream is good, but I think it is more like a custard. We enjoyed making it as a family and we hope to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Just the best vanilla ice cream out there! I even forgot to add the vanilla extract, but I did use a vanilla bean. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States