Vanilla Ice Cream VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
There are a lot of eggs in this recipe and so it becomes very thick, like pudding before you freeze it in the ice cream machine. My boyfriend (who eats a lot of ice cream) told me it was too rich, but what I think he tastes is all the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Megan
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This ice cream is good, but I think it is more like a custard. We enjoyed making it as a family and we hope to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Great texture and taste! After a bad experience with another ice cream recipe I heeded a previous reviewers warning and cut the eggs. We used 3 eggs in place of 5 the recipe called for. Also substituted 2 tsp of vanilla extract for the vanilla bean. We cooled the mixture in the fridge overnight. After churning in our ice cream mixer it was absolutely the best vanilla ice cream I have ever tasted. I am not a vanilla fan, but this was delicious and not a drop was left after our BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
To make your ice cream more creamy let the ice cream base sit overnight in the fridge. The next day it will be vanilla sauce/pudding like. This is a great, creamy ice cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I had to half this recipe as my ice cream machine is only small. I think there are way too many eggs. Just two would have been sufficent as the taste was overwelming. Might try again and play around with the amounts as it has the potential to be a great ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I am in the minority here but I didn't care for this ice cream at all. I did use the vanilla bean and followed the recipe exactly but it just has a funny "twang" to me I don't care for. It was thick and creamy tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This vanilla ice cream was great but I had changed a few things. I used half & half instead of heavy cream, whole milk, and only 5 egg yolks. It came out very creamy and smooth. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
This recipe was awesome. My family loved it. didn't change a thing. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
This is excellent homemade ice cream. I prefer the cooked kind just because of the scare of uncooked eggs. I did splurge on the vanilla beans and think it was worth it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This is WORTH the 'trouble'!!! I am on a low sugar diet by choice (which we all should be) and I made this ice cream with Splenda* brand alternative sweetener. It goes thru your system, and does not get absorbed into the blood stream, because your body mistakes it for something unabsorbable, like dietary fiber. It's fabulous. And, like the jingles claim, it does taste just like sugar. Anyhow, you've got to be really careful not to let the custard boil. If you use medium heat all through the recipie, it'll boil at some point. After seeing the first few 'boils' in the cream mix, take it off the heat and immediately turn the stove down to medium-low. Half way to medium. Then, watch it carefully, and stir OFTEN. I found that it is thick enough to 'coat the back of a spoon' in it's plain cream mix form, but when the final custard has been cooking for 3 or 5 minutes, and it does seem nice and thick to you, it's done. If you have a newer 'ice-less' ice cream mixer, and you are going to be using online recipes, you should definately find out what the capacity of your freezer bowl is. I have the Cuisinart ICE-20, and any recipe with a total of roughly 2 1/2 to 3 cups of dairy products in it is definately going to fill it up. Don't forget how ice cream seems to double in volume when it is freezing up. If the recipe seems too big, take advantage of allrecipe's fabulous scaling option at the bottom of the main recipe page. Just tweak it until the cuppage is correct for your mixer. Also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States