Vanilla Ice Cream VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good, but I'm glad I read the other reviews and lessened the eggs. I doubled the recipe, but I only used 1 quart of cream, and all the rest of the liquid I used half and half. I used 13 egg yolks total. Still creamy and tasty.. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Perfect recipe, and I liked this one better than the other vanilla ice cream recipes because the instructions called for tempering the eggs. I found another vanilla custard ice cream recipe on here that just called for cooking eggs over direct heat and that spells tragedy if you look away from the stove for a minute. Tempering is the way to go. For Thanksgiving, I added Vietnamese cinnamon to the recipe and made cinnamon-vanilla ice cream to go with the pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlchow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
A bit on the eggy side, but this is quite tasty. I don't know if it's because mine boiled in the 10 seconds that I left it unattended, but it was not as creamy as I would have liked - the crystals were a bit large. I will make it again and change my review if it improves without boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is yummy! When i try a new recipes I like to follow them to a "T" the first time, then make any tweeking the next time. With this recipe I had to make it in two batches. The first batch I chilled it for 2 hours, mixing it every now and then and it came out really good!! A bit "egg-y" but still really good. Then the 2nd batch chilled for 2 1/2 days (kids distract you you know) and I added some strawberry jam. The results were incredible! My husband said that he couldn't believe that I had made the frozen custard from Leon's (Milwaukee, WI)!! It was creamier and not as egg-y. I don't know if the jam or the more chilling time that had anything to do with it changing but OMG!!!! Now, he wants me to make this enough times to always have a stock of it on hand. That's enough compliment for me. thanks for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was really good the first time I made it, but the second time didn't work out so well. I don't understand the "coat the back of the spoon" reference. As soon as I mixed the egg yokes and cream/milk I stuck a metal spoon in it and it coated the back and left a trail when I ran my finger through it. So I just cooked it for 20 minutes, repeating the spoon test a few times with the same result. As it got close to the 20 minute point, yellow globules started forming in the liquid (I didn't know if this was good or bad) After 20 minutes I strained, cooled and then froze the liquid in the ice cream maker. The results were pretty awful. The globules grouped together and formed butter-like clumps that even the kids wouldn't eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a smooth, very rich, and creamy frozen custard, the kind we in Wisconsin love and are famous for. For those who find the "egginess" not to their liking, the egg yolks can be reduced without a problem. Since I like my custard extra rich, I used half and half in exchange for the milk, which also contributes to the smooth mouth feel. This is also a wonderful base for other flavors and additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I had to halve it for my machine, and I used a full tablespoon of vanilla bean paste instead of the actual bean and the extract. The flavour is great. And it's so rich (it's really an old fashioned frozen custard, rather than what we think of anymore as ice cream). I gave it 4 instead of 5 simply because I did find it a bit too sweet. I'll cut back on the sugar the next time. I bet it would be wonderful with about 2/3C of orange juice concentrate stirred in. Or a teaspoon of pure orange oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I gave this a 4 because I think I like the uncooked icecream better, it has the grainy/icy texture I remember as a kid and relate with "homeade". This was really good...tasted very creamy. I did cut the eggs to 7. My family loved it! This is probably the best cooked recipe if you like that kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
overkill.Too much fat.reduce cream and egg yolks and it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Just the best vanilla ice cream out there! I even forgot to add the vanilla extract, but I did use a vanilla bean. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States