Vanilla Ice Cream VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Husband made this start to finish then ate it while I was out, so I didn't get to try. He said it was too yolky, so I guess we're trying another recipe next time, or cutting down on the egg yolks. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I love this recipe. I went to a french pastry school and we would make ice cream base called creme anglaise. This was closest to it. I noticed if you use heavy cream the ice cream is very rich and tastes a little buttery. The instructors at the school would say that as well and would suggest using half and half. I also cut back on my eggs too. I like to use 5 eggs because it is cheaper and makes the ice cream fluffier, I think 10 eggs is too much. I would also use at least 2-3 vanilla beans for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pia Lundgren
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Cut the eggs a bit, as suggested. Delicious and decadent! 1/2 recipe of this fits nicely into the Kitchen Aid stand mixer ice cream attachment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Made a batch for 4th of July. We had a contest between five different ice creams and this one won!! I used 1 pt heavy cream, 1 pt half & half instead of a qt. of heavy cream. Also only used 6 egg yolks. After it was done, I stirred in 1 cup of boysenberry jam, then let sit for a couple hrs. YUMMERS....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this for a church function because of all the great reviews- if I had wanted egg custard I would have made a pie- not worth the trouble! HONESTLY-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
A little too rich. Reduce eggs and cream. More milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Oh my good, this is so good I almost cried tears of joy. Halved the recipe and added 4 eggs, otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. I only can say my boyfriend almost ate the whole thing at one sitting hehe, this ice cream is that good!! Thank you Melissa for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This ice cream is the way all ice cream should be! Delicious and smooth and so flaverful. I didn't have a vanilla bean so I omitted it but WOW what a great recipe. The thing that surprised me the most about this recipe was the flavor, it almost tastes like a hint of mint is in the actual ice cream, very weird but not overpowering. I did have problems with straining the custard, the process that worked best for me was i got a splatter shield and put it over a large bowl, i pour the custrd on top of that as much as I could without it overflowing and then moved it around with a whisk til the liquid had soak through. Wonderful recipe, I'd give it more stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Best Icecream ever... with a few modifications. 2 qts heavy cream 2 cups whole milk 2 cups sugar 10 egg yolks 2 Tbs vanilla extract This recipe is best if hardened for a few hours or overnight. My kids added cookie dough and it worked out well. You can add anything to this base and it will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldyates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Very good. Made it for a family reunion. It wasn't quite enough and it went very fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States