Vanilla Ice Cream VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I have to give this one 5 stars because it was probably the easiest ice cream I have ever made. The flavor was very vanilla-ish and the texture was just like I remember from my grandparents homemade ice cream. I did sustitute fat free half and half for the water but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Thank you so much for sharing this, I know I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. I cut it down to 8 servings to make 1 quart, since that's all I can fit in my tiny hand-cranked ice cream maker. I used pasturized egg substitute rather than the raw eggs, which I was a little weary of using. I also cut the fat by using 2% and skim evaporated milk. I admit that the texture was a little on the grainy side because of this, but not too bad. It also froze up in the freezer quite nicely. My boyfriend told me this ice cream was as good as his grandma's, which is quite a complement! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Yummy!!! The very best no-cook vanilla ice cream we've ever had!! This one is going to the next family reunion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lydia
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I am a vanilla ice cream lover but my fiancé. So, I made a small amount of this ice cream just for myself. But after he tasted he asked for more and eventually finished everything! Then he said “we do not need to buy ice cream anymore.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Great flavor, but the consistency is way too icy. Will definitely substitute heavy cream or half and half instead of milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Very Good and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
not quite sure what the water was for. We left it out and it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilyanne78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
I cut the sugar down on this recipe to 2 cups, and it came out just great. Not so sweet, and I put the full 2 tblsp. of vanilla in, to get that good vanilla flavor. My family loved it recently when we got together for a birthday celebration. I plan on making it again for Father's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windom, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
My husband is an ice cream gu ru. He raved about this! Followed everthing and used our store bought ice cream machine to churn it into something fluffy, and simply delicious! Add any topping. It tastes yummy plain too. Thanks for sharing!!! A keeper in our files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I haven't made this and I won't using raw eggs. The recipe should come with a warning that there is a risk of salmonella food poisoning from eating raw eggs. That is why most ice cream recipes call for cooking the eggs. Some reviewers have mentioned they used the pasteurized egg product successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States