Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was great, especially the batch with fresh vanilla beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I <3 Garlic 'N Onions

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This ice cream turned out more like ice than cream. It was also way too heavy on the vanilla flavor, but I did use Mexican vanilla, so maybe that was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We double this recipe for our maker. Yummy! MIL asked for the recipe last night. Now, THAT'S a complement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! I had actually made a different custard recipe that was way too rich for my family's taste and had ingredients left over so I found this one. To fit in my 2qt cuisinart I put 2 cups of half and half, 1 cup heavy cream, 1 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla and just filled the remainder of the bowl with whole milk. Of course the ease and deliciousness of this recipe is not going to be good for the waistline! maker beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Since 4th of July is right around the corner, I decided to make some vanilla ice cream. I have never been let down before with Allrecipes.com, so I thought I would search their site for this. The ice cream turned out fabulous! I did not follow the directions to a T. I did read the rest of the directions and made it my own. I had to double the recipe (since we have a lot of people coming over tomorrow.) I used 2 quarts of HnH, 1 1/2 quarts of Heavy cream, half a cup of milk, 2 cups of sugar, 3 REAL vanilla bean pods, 2 small pinches of kosher salt and two cap fulls of REAL vanilla extract. I melted the sugar in the pot with the creams and bean pods till slightly warm. I took 4 large egg yolks and gradually mixed them into the mixture. I turned the heat off and then I let it steep for about 10 minutes (to get the flavor of the vanilla to come out.) I then put the mixture in the ice cream machines and it came out PERFECT!!! It's creamy SUPER vanillay and rich. It's just what I wanted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Followed the 2:1 ration of heavy cream to half and half. Used 4 1/2 c cream & 2 1/4 c half and half for our 3 quart icecream maker. Finished product tasted too much like heavy cream to me. Great overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This results in an icy-textured icemilk. Very disappointing. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Good flavor but is more like ice milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent texture, very easy and versatile with much potential as a base recipe for many other flavors - have used this to make honey vanilla cinnamon, mint chocolate, and today will be trying raspberry chocolate chip. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very disappointed in this recipe. I prefer no-egg ice creams, but this was more in the line of iced milk, even using the stated amounts of cream and half & half. Extremely bland and icy with virtually no vanilla taste at all. I even dissolved the sugar in with the liquid base at the beginning, and still no creaminess at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States