Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
We had company over this evening and I picked this recipe for dessert. I made it almost exactly according to the recipe (I didn't have half-and-half so I made my own with whole milk and cream). I dissolved the sugar in a bit of hot water. I also added 1/4 tsp each of almond and rum extract as a previous reviewer suggested, to bring out the vanilla flavor. I forgot the salt. The results were absolutely fantastic! Possibly the best ice cream I've ever made. We all got seconds. And were horrified at the end of the evening to discover we'd accidentally eaten the ENTIRE batch of ice cream. Yes, 32 servings between the 6 of us. It was pretty awful--but it sure was tasty! Do I recommend this recipe? Only if you want the most incredibly delicious and completely irresistible vanilla ice cream you've ever tasted. On a diet? You should probably cheat on something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Simple and delicious! I made this recipe exatly as written, and it turned out great. I served it with chocolate pound cake and they tasted HEAVENLY together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
It was a little disappointing we got all excited about having homemade ice cream, but when we tasted it it was almost flavor less. The only way this recipe would taste good is if you put a lot of chocolate syrup on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was good; it was a light vanilla taste. I didn't let it stir long enough in my ice cream maker I think because although parts of it came out creamy I also had a bit of it which had more of an ice milk consistency. I'm a bit of a beginner at making ice cream, so I'll try again, I am looking for a just a tad richer and creamier ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. If you're a strawberry fan, take note: adding one carton of frozen strawberries with sugar (found in the frozen aisle) about 30 minutes before the ice cream is finished makes the most amazing strawberry ice cream. I didn't have any fresh berries on hand, otherwise I'm sure they would make it even more scrum-diddly-umpcious. But seriously folks, get some berries into this amazingness. Your taste buds will thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flage's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I really wanted to like this ice cream, but I found it to be more of an ice milk taste/texture. I should've paid more attention to the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
It was easy. But it had no flavor! It tasted like whipped cream! And it's icy, not creamy. If I were to ever try this again, which I doubt, I'm thinking 2 or 2 1/2 cups of sugar, and 6 or 8 teaspoons of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This recipe was great! We added strawberries and loved it! Quick, simple, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I loved that this recipe did not involve cooking, raw eggs, or waiting and chilling the mixture for any length of time. We halved the recipe for our little 4 person family and added fresh chopped strawberries. The next day we went to a local fruit packing place that prides themselves on their homemade ice cream. My kids and I agreed, ours was better! Thanks for this easy and affordable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I have made this recipe many times now. The quantity of ingredients above is the perfect amount for my 3 quart ice cream turner. I use bakers sugar which is a finer granular than normal sugar. I have found it nice to make the full batch of vanilla. I then divide it into two separate mixing bowls and add what ever ingredients we want to mix in (Oreo Cookies, Chocolate Chips etc...) to make two separate batches. I stir those in by hand and then put both bowls in the freezer to finish the ice cream off. This is such a simple recipe that we tend to make ice cream much more than when we used to make the custard style cook recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States