Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
We wanted black licorice ice cream! So I made it! Used this recipe but used anise extract instead. That shows you how versatile this ice cream recipe is! If using anise... I recommend cutting the flavoring down to 1/2-3/4 of recommended flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was so easy to make and is really yummy! I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer ice cream maker attachment, and it worked like a charm. I didn't need to make any changes to the recipe, it has a great depth of flavor and is rich and creamy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I love a rich, creamy vanilla ice cream, don't you? You can do so much with it. This is a really nice recipe. Followed it to the letter. Made a homemade blackberry sauce using fresh berries, sugar, blackberry schnapps and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. Garnished with fresh blackberries. A simple and elegant summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by Angie Seaman
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made this recipe without an ice cream machine and it turned out great. Loved the flavor, very creamy - definitely a keeper! I used vanilla bean paste and it was awesome. Next time I will have to try mixing in some fudge or chocolate cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Have used a similar recipe for 3 years. Instead of sugar and cream, use 2-3 cans of sweetened condensed milk. Blend all ingredients prior to putting in mixer container. No chance of graininess with this modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This recipe wasn't for me. I will stick to my old fashioned cooked vanilla custard ice cream. This wasn't very creamy and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was the absolute easiest ice cream recipe. The vanilla turned out so good I made a second trip to the store to get more stuff to make chocolate. I just added 2 tsp of vanilla instead of 4 and added unsweetened oocoa powder. I had forgotten just how good homemade ice cream could be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I typically don’t change a recipe on the first try, but I did tweak this slightly. To lighten even more, I used fat-free half-and-half, mixed in a little bit of a peach puree along with some chopped fresh peaches. Next time if I add peaches, I will use almond extract instead of vanilla. It was nice not having to make a custard, and then wait for it to cool before pouring into the ice cream maker. Texture was not quite as creamy as it would have been using the typical full-fat whipping cream recipes, but this was more than satisfactory considering all the calories and fat I saved. I guess what I’m saying is that it was less of a guilt trip using this recipe, and it tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I tend to lean towards cooked ice creams but I must admit that I love this one too! It is an excellent recipe and requires less patience and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
WOW! This was great. My three kids and I spent Father's Day making this and are enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States