Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
WOW! This was great. My three kids and I spent Father's Day making this and are enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Warmed the cream and half and half to dissolve the sugar. Chilled overnight. Awesome vanilla ice cream! Saves well and doesn't freeze solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This is delicious!!! After making it I put right into the freezer for 2 hours but could wait no longer. The consistency was like a milkshake and sooooo.good!!! The only changes I made were using Truvia Baking Blend sweetner instead of sugar and I took about 1/8 cup of water and dissolved the sweetener and salt in it and reduced 1/8 cup of the heavy cream ......next time I will not reduce any cream....and try to dissolve the sugar in a little of the half n half first. I think the water even such a small amount made it too thin. We will never buy commercial preservative laden, artificial ingredient laden ice cream again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
So good! I did as some other reviews suggested and used about 1/3 c. of vanilla creamer for 1/3 c. of the 1/2 & 1/2. Next time, I might add even more vanilla or maybe some vanilla bean, but it's a great, EASY & FAST vanilla recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
The only sub I made is that I used vanilla bean rather than vanilla extract. That made for fantastic flavor, but I found the texture to be just shy of perfect. I would've given 5 stars for simplicity PLUS perfect, creamy texture. Don't get me wrong, the family ate every bite, but I could tell it wasn't as creamy as I wanted it to be. IMO you really need a eggs to get that truly creamy texture in homemade ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This recipe is all about the simplicity and it works. Simple tasty ice cream recipe that begs to be modified. This recipe just flat out works. We are going to mix in Somoas in tonight's rendition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is really good, I wanted a recipe that didn't use eggs, this filled the bill. I have made it 3 times in the last week and it was great each time. I did makes sure the sugar was all dissolved before I started to freeze it to avoid any grainy texture. I used half 35%(whipping) cream and half 1% milk as that is what we always have on hand it worked well! We like it, and our company did also. I am going to add fruit the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Home Town: Big Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Based on feedback I changed this to use a 2:1 ratio of heavy cream to half-n-half because some other recipes turned out a bit icy and I was looking for creamier. I also halved the recipe because my ice cream maker isn't that big and added two egg yolks to help emulsify. I mixed the ingredients together in the mixer for a minute or so prior to putting in the ice cream maker because my maker does not mix. As it was mixing, the cream started to whip up slightly so it had a bit of air in it. After about 10 minutes of mixing in the machine I added 3/4 cup of mini chocolate chips and some chopped walnuts (optional). As it came out of the ice cream maker I thought it was a failure because it was very light and tasted somewhat like whipped cream. But after being in the freezer for 3 hours it thickened considerably and was dense, creamy and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I really like this ice cream recipe with a few alterations. I don't stock half&half, but do stock heavy cream, so I substitute equal parts of heavy cream and 2% milk for the half&half. It's the only recipe I have tried where the ice cream doers not get too hard and icy after being in the freezer a few days. I also increased the vanilla to 6 teaspoons, since I didn't think there was enough vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
just tried this recipe and was thrilled with it. Going to make again and use add ins to make different flavors!!! quick easy simple and a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States