Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Yum! Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I made this twice. The first time I was not happy with the result. It was too icy and not rich, but I liked the concept so iI did it again reversing the ratio of cream and half and half. That produced a much better result. I used vanilla paste to amp up the flavor and served it with Chef John's Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Delicious and easy recipe. Nothing like fresh-made ice cream. You can definitely tell the difference between this and store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I made this as written and then did a second time with some adaptations with great results. First, I scaled in half for my 2 quart counter top ice cream maker. To get a better texture, I reduced the half and half to 3 cups and increased the heavy cream to 1-1/2 cups. To make sure you don't end up with a grainy texture, use a hand mixer to combine the half and half with the sugar for just a couple of minutes and then stir in the remaining ingredients. This is a soft serve ice cream, even straight from the freezer. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I mixed the sugar, 2% milk (my choice instead of half and half, heavy cream and sugar until the sugar had dissolved. Then I placed in the ice cream maker and made per the instructions of the ice cream maker. I used vanilla paste in place of the extract so I could have the little flecks of vanilla bean. Delicious. My aunt said it was the best ice cream she had ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This recipe was easy, but it was not a rich and creamy ice cream. One of my guests said it tastes like snow cream, and it does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
My ice cream maker is smaller so I scaled back the recipe, and increase the cream to light cream ratio after reading the reviews. This was a simple and easy recipe that made a very nice vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Perfect! We loved it! I may try to cut back some of the calories next time and/or try different flavoring but, for vanilla - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetM52

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
We enjoyed this vanilla ice cream with some bananas foster! It was not as creamy as some others (due to the half and half to cream ratio) - but it was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was very good, very easy, but not as creamy as the recipe I usually use. Changing the ratio of cream to half & half would make it creamier. My ice cream maker doesn't make a gallon of ice cream so I reduced the recipe for 1 1/2 qts. I dissolved the sugar in some warmed half & half because I was afraid it might be a bit grainy, and I also added a cup of chopped strawberries-yum! I like that this recipe doesn't use eggs or canned sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States