Vanilla Ice Cream V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was very good, very easy, but not as creamy as the recipe I usually use. Changing the ratio of cream to half & half would make it creamier. My ice cream maker doesn't make a gallon of ice cream so I reduced the recipe for 1 1/2 qts. I dissolved the sugar in some warmed half & half because I was afraid it might be a bit grainy, and I also added a cup of chopped strawberries-yum! I like that this recipe doesn't use eggs or canned sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by D.G. Says
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
We wanted black licorice ice cream! So I made it! Used this recipe but used anise extract instead. That shows you how versatile this ice cream recipe is! If using anise... I recommend cutting the flavoring down to 1/2-3/4 of recommended flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.G. Says

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was so easy to make and is really yummy! I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer ice cream maker attachment, and it worked like a charm. I didn't need to make any changes to the recipe, it has a great depth of flavor and is rich and creamy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I love a rich, creamy vanilla ice cream, don't you? You can do so much with it. This is a really nice recipe. Followed it to the letter. Made a homemade blackberry sauce using fresh berries, sugar, blackberry schnapps and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. Garnished with fresh blackberries. A simple and elegant summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made this recipe without an ice cream machine and it turned out great. Loved the flavor, very creamy - definitely a keeper! I used vanilla bean paste and it was awesome. Next time I will have to try mixing in some fudge or chocolate cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Have used a similar recipe for 3 years. Instead of sugar and cream, use 2-3 cans of sweetened condensed milk. Blend all ingredients prior to putting in mixer container. No chance of graininess with this modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This recipe wasn't for me. I will stick to my old fashioned cooked vanilla custard ice cream. This wasn't very creamy and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was the absolute easiest ice cream recipe. The vanilla turned out so good I made a second trip to the store to get more stuff to make chocolate. I just added 2 tsp of vanilla instead of 4 and added unsweetened oocoa powder. I had forgotten just how good homemade ice cream could be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I typically don’t change a recipe on the first try, but I did tweak this slightly. To lighten even more, I used fat-free half-and-half, mixed in a little bit of a peach puree along with some chopped fresh peaches. Next time if I add peaches, I will use almond extract instead of vanilla. It was nice not having to make a custard, and then wait for it to cool before pouring into the ice cream maker. Texture was not quite as creamy as it would have been using the typical full-fat whipping cream recipes, but this was more than satisfactory considering all the calories and fat I saved. I guess what I’m saying is that it was less of a guilt trip using this recipe, and it tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I tend to lean towards cooked ice creams but I must admit that I love this one too! It is an excellent recipe and requires less patience and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States