Vanilla Ice Cream IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
TIP: If you mix the milk with the eggs, and heat to a temperature of 160F, it will kill any salmonella that may be present. Do this in advance so the mixture has time to cool, then be chilled in fridge, before combining with remaining ingredients and placing in ice cream maker. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I wouldn't really call this a vanilla ice cream because of the significant amount of lemon extract in the recipe. The lemon flavor takes over the vanilla, which tastes good but something to keep in mind. This recipe makes a decent amount of ice cream, so I used the servings calculator and cut the recipe in half. I made the ice cream using the exact amount og ingredients called for except that I cooked the ice cream until thickened because of the eggs in it, which I recommend doing. Just combine all of the ingredients in a saucepan and whisk together for about 10 minutes or so on medium to medium high heat until slightly thickened and allow mixture to completely cool in the fridge before transferring to your ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good recipe. I left out the lemon and doubled the vanilla extract. I also used whole milk in place of the cream. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Flavor was good, but the texture was not. Like other uncooked ice creams, this turned out grainy and melted incredibly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very tasty, dense vanilla ice cream. It was a little too lemony for vanilla ice cream, but still very good. Next time, I'll use a little less lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wynter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
WOW!!!! Absolutely the BEST homemade icecream I have ever had!!!! The only change I made was using all vanilla extract instead of lemon. My family would give it ten stars if they could!!! I will definitely be using this recipe again and again. It is also a great vanilla icecream to add mix-ins. Thanks JEMR2 for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This recipe was super easy and came out perfect. I like others, did not whip the cream before adding. One other change: since I didn't have lemon extract I used almond extract and it came out super delicious. It's like an almond vanilla ice cream with a perfect texture! This is the base ice cream recipe in our home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
We really loved this ice cream. It was so easy to make, and the vanilla flavor was really refreshing. I thought it tasted a little bit weird with chocolate on it (because of the lemon), but it was delicious enough to stand on its own. I originally let it ripen in the freezer for a couple of hours, and it was good, but when we tried some a couple of days later, the flavors had really blended and the ice cream was even better than the first time.The ice cream had firmed up, as well. My ice cream maker is the Cuisinart, so I cut the recipe down to 8 servings. There was some room in the canister, so I will probably make 11 servings next time. Overall, the taste is really impressive for the lack of effort needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
LOVE THIS ICE CREAM!! I have made it four times so far! We liked the lemon flavor but also have made it with half the lemon and added more vanilla, and have also made it using 4 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla only. Great either way, depending on your taste. Very rich and creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe was great!! Will I was babysitting we made it!! Very easy!! The little girl i babysat decided to take the ice cream home to show her mom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States