Vanilla Ice Cream IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Very easy. We left out the lemon and it was just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This recipe is delicious! I loved the thick consistency and the great taste. I substituted egg nog for half of the 5 cups of milk and everyone loved it! It was gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
LOVE THIS ICE CREAM!! I have made it four times so far! We liked the lemon flavor but also have made it with half the lemon and added more vanilla, and have also made it using 4 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla only. Great either way, depending on your taste. Very rich and creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
WOW!!!! Absolutely the BEST homemade icecream I have ever had!!!! The only change I made was using all vanilla extract instead of lemon. My family would give it ten stars if they could!!! I will definitely be using this recipe again and again. It is also a great vanilla icecream to add mix-ins. Thanks JEMR2 for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I wouldn't really call this a vanilla ice cream because of the significant amount of lemon extract in the recipe. The lemon flavor takes over the vanilla, which tastes good but something to keep in mind. This recipe makes a decent amount of ice cream, so I used the servings calculator and cut the recipe in half. I made the ice cream using the exact amount og ingredients called for except that I cooked the ice cream until thickened because of the eggs in it, which I recommend doing. Just combine all of the ingredients in a saucepan and whisk together for about 10 minutes or so on medium to medium high heat until slightly thickened and allow mixture to completely cool in the fridge before transferring to your ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Good; however, much too much lemon for our taste. I'll make it again using less lemon and I think it'll be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
Makes wonderfully creamy ice cream. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good recipe. I left out the lemon and doubled the vanilla extract. I also used whole milk in place of the cream. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Great basic recipe for vanilla icecream! I did substitute in more vanilla extract for the lemon extract, and I also added 1 oz. of Amaretto liquer to my milk for added flavor. I followed the tip to heat the whole milk and evaporated milk (and amaretto) to 175 degrees before adding to the sugar and eggs, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Wow, I love this one!! The lemon extract gives this a totally unique, unexpected flavor. It's tasty! If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would. My family renamed it Lemonilla Ice Cream. I'll absolutely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States