Vanilla Ice Cream IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Fantastic...but I cooked it! I added all the ingredients to a double-boiler except for the vanilla, pudding mix, and milk. When the mixture got hot, I added the last 3 ingredients and cooked it until just boiling, then removed from heat. It just made me feel better knowing the eggs were cooked. I chilled the custard and then froze it in an ice cream maker. It was extremely creamy and very vanilla! I'll definitely adopt this recipe as our "standard" for vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is an excellent basic recipe-the best I have tried. I use this to make chocolate ice cream by using chocolate pudding and adding 1 cup melted chocolate chips to batter. To make banana I use vanilla pudding and add about 4-5 pureed bananas to batter. I cook this recipe also, I usually heat milk and sugar until hot, then add eggs and either bananas or melted chocolate to batter and cook for 1-2 minutes longer (I find if eggs are beaten well before adding to hot mixture they will not cause lumps in batter). Then I remove from heat and add the heavy cream and other ingredients. Also, I use 2 cups cream and less milk-very rich and creamy!!!!!! cat h.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This tastes like frozen store-bought pudding, not ice cream. The consistancy after being in the freezer is weirdly stiff yet gooey, like cold playdough. But if you like frozen pudding, you may like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
YUMMY! This will be the only recipe I will use for vanilla ice cream. It is very rich and creamy! When you scoop it out the ice cream clings to the spoon! I can't wait to try it with other flavors of pudding. I had to scale down the recipe to half and then only 3/4 of it would fit my cuisinart ice cream maker. I used one carton of egg beaters (2 eggs worth) instead of the fresh eggs and I still put in a whole teaspoon of vanilla. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Indian Head, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I cant stop making this ice cream! I tried this recipe not only with the cheesecake pudding, but the next time I made it I used the original recipe with vanilla pudding, but used brown sugar instead of white and instead of liquid vanilla, I used a real vanilla bean. Out of this world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAPHNE89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This is the best ice cream I have ever had. The vanilla version is amazingingly rich, but we have used chocolate pudding as well. It came out lighter and just as tasty. We are hooked, and I think it will be a long time before we but store made ice cream again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
With all of the great reviews I though I could not go wrong with this one! My wife and I both thought the ice cream was only fair. The vanilla recipe that came with my ice cream maker was much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This ice-cream is fantastic! I made it for our Family Reunion over the 4th of July and everyone LOVED it -- 5 different people made ice cream and this one got all the raves. I've finally found the recipe to use -- every time I make ice cream I try something new - but no more. This is it! I did use Egg Beaters instead of the raw eggs, and it didn't make a difference. I'd highly suggest that. This is an ice cream without tons of heavy cream and 1/2 and 1/2, but it still has the rich creamy flavor -- TRY IT!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
The way I look at homemade ice cream is if you are going to make it, then you might as well spare no expense and spare no calories. I tried this recipe and thought that it was very easy to make. I put the mixture in a blender to get the lumps out of the mixture from the vanilla. Did not bother to do anything with the eggs, since my husband and I would be eating it and we are not elderly. Used the 32 serving recipe and put it in a 5 quart electric freezer. It "stopped" in 20 minutes and we let the freezer sit for a couple of hours with a towel over the top. It is pretty creamy and did not get hard. But the taste and consistency was fabulous! My husband loved it and we will try this again for our September family reunion. This is a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This recipe went right into my recipe box! I didn't change a thing to the recipe. This is a great recipe to build on. I have made this with cookie dough chunks added in (cookie dough recipe from this site) and processed about 1 cup of semi-sweet choco chips...really great cookie dough ice cream! With the other half of this ice cream I crushed up oreos and mixed it in. Make sure you do add ins towards the end of the mixing (if using and electric ice cream maker) or when it's done--just before you put it in the freezer. Don't be afraid to decrease the sugar if you don't like really sweet ice cream--you won't miss it. Awesome (and easy) recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States