Vanilla Ice Cream IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
We thought this recipe was excellent. I did use half and half for the heavy whipping cream(that's what I happened to have on hand.) I also cooked the milk and eggs and would recommend doing so. I actually made two batches of ice cream. In the second one we used mexican chocolate and a little brandy. It was really good!!! For those who think the recipe has an artifical taste, add your favorite ingredients and I'm sure it won't be noticed. This is very easy and a good basic recipe. Thanks, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I am accustomed to cooked custard ice cream recipes, but had not gotten the custard made in time today for guests to arrive. I made it with pasteurized eggs to keep it safe, and I really thought it was excellent as did my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This was so good! I will save this as my "Offical" homemade vanilla ice cream recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I can't believe this recipe got such high ratings. True, it was easy to make and created a nice-looking ice cream, but the package of instant vanilla pudding gave it an artificial flavor that made it taste more store-bought than homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I'm SOOOO glad I found this recipe!!! For years I've looked for a great vanilla ice cream recipe, but they all had a waxy feel to them. This is such wonderful ice cream - I'm sold. I, too, cooked the eggs with the cream. Thank you, Lisa, for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
The best vanilla ice cream recipe I've tried. I halved the recipe to make it fit my Krups machine and used the new pasteurized in the shell eggs to keep it safe for the family. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
The best, creamy, homemade vanilla ice cream ever! I made it for Mothers' Day and everybody loved it. They all wanted the recipe and were shocked to hear it had pudding in it.It's a new family favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
WOW We made this tonight when we had friends over and they RAVED!! I barely have any left over. I halved the recipe for my small maker. I used 3 eggs, 1/2 can sweetened condensed milk, and the whole package of Pudding mix. We made Vanilla which was good but the pistachio was AMAZING!! We're going to try it with pinapple, nuts, and marshmallows to make pistachio salad ice cream. It does have a "pudding"y taste to it but not nearly enough to be "fudgescicle" like even with double the amount of pudding mix. TRY THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
My first time to even try home made ice cream and it was a hit!! very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I cooked the eggs and evaporated milk since I have a two year old and I was serving to a large group. Everyone absolutely raved about this delicious custard like ice cream! It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States