Vanilla Ice Cream IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
The way I look at homemade ice cream is if you are going to make it, then you might as well spare no expense and spare no calories. I tried this recipe and thought that it was very easy to make. I put the mixture in a blender to get the lumps out of the mixture from the vanilla. Did not bother to do anything with the eggs, since my husband and I would be eating it and we are not elderly. Used the 32 serving recipe and put it in a 5 quart electric freezer. It "stopped" in 20 minutes and we let the freezer sit for a couple of hours with a towel over the top. It is pretty creamy and did not get hard. But the taste and consistency was fabulous! My husband loved it and we will try this again for our September family reunion. This is a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
delicious! I'm happy I finally found a good vanilla icecream recipe. I made this for The 4th Of July and it was a hit! I used 1/3 less sugar and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
omg this ice cream was amazingly rich and creamy!! It had a great texture also! i tried cooking the eggs before using them because it was going to be served to young children, but it ended up tasting and smelling like egg. I tried using pasturized eggs and those worked waaaaaaaay better!! This is now officially my favorite homemade ice cream and i can't wait to share it with my whole family(all lovers of homemade ice cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Awesome ice cream! Halved the recipe and used the new Cookies and Cream pudding mix, also used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of whipping cream. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Poppy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
THIS IS THE BEST ICE CREAM RECIPE I HAVE EVER TRYED. VERY GOOD TEXTURE AND TASTE. VERY EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Very easy and VERY deliciuos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I love ice cream and did not love this. Neither did my husband. It tasted VERY artifical, even after adding a lot of candy and toppings. Tasted similar to the off-brand vanilla you can buy at the store with a slight pudding flavor. The recipe was also unclear as to how much milk to add concidering every ice cream maker has a different fill line depending on it's size. I just added the four cups which brought it shy of the fill line in my 6 quart machine. The texture was good after hard freezing it over night. If you could just substitute the pudding for something it would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
awesome recipe!! it the first one i made after i bought my ice cream maker and its so good! i divided the recipe in half and for the first batch i did the original vanilla and for the second i added about a teaspoon of peppermint extract, green food colouring, mini chocolate chips and cut up york peppermint patties...it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I'm a huge ice cream fan, and this was only my second attempt at making my own. I thought it was wonderful! It was very creamy. I agree that it was a little sweeter, but a small reduction in sugar is easy enough. I didn't think the pudding added a store-bought taste to it at all and I used french vanilla pudding. I will make this again and try adding fruit or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This is a hit! We couldn't get enough of it. Is the best recipe and very versatile because you can change the flavor of pudding. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States