Vanilla Ice Cream IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
this is our stand-by recipe that's always a hit. i use powdered sugar and cut back to 1 cup. i've also made this into an amazing mint oreo by adding a tablespoon or two of peppermint extract and crushed up mint oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I could only give this one 3 stars because of the issues with freezing. I used my 4 qt. ice cream maker and followed the recipe exactly. Once I put the ice cream mixture into the ice cream maker, I added milk to the fill line as instructed. The only kind of milk that we ever have is fat free. I think this is my downfall. Once the ice cream maker was done doing its job, the ice cream was the consistency of a milkshake, so we poured it into a large Tupperware container and put it in the freezer. It took overnight to freeze, but when I checked it in the morning, it was rock solid! We had to set it out for a LONG time before serving. So, I suggest using the thickest, richest milk - probably even whole milk, that way it will get pretty firm in the ice cream maker, then you can freeze it. I will be posting a picture soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Made this for the 4th of July. Got raves. Very easy. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautifully and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made this yesterday for a Birthday party. I'm only giving it 4 stars because it was sooo sweet. But that could have been my fault because I didn't add any additional milk (just the 4 cups). I also think adding fresh fruit would cut back on the sweetness. My husband really liked it--he said my other recipe tastes like marshmellow fluff. The vanilla pudding definitely helped with the flavor. I made this again last night for the 4th of July. Since there were young kids I cooked the eggs in a sauce pan on medium along with the milk and sugar for about 20 minutes. I then added the rest of the ingredients and let the mixture sit in the fridge over night. I ended up adding an entire pint of cream. Mainly because I didn't want to waste the other half, but also to cut back on the sweetness. I also added only 1/2 box of vanilla pudding. I like the flavor of adding the pudding, but a whoe box gives it an artificial flavor in my opinion. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
It doesn't have the traditional ice cream flavor. It's too milky-I could taste alot of the Condensed Milk flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Very good ice cream! I used all low fat ingredients (2% milk, fat free condensed and ev. milk), and it turned out great! It tastes like Chick-fil-A's ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Very good. Sweet,but we like it that way. Going to add toffee bits next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I made this when my in-laws came to visit and it was delicious. I didn't find it "pudding-gy", in fact, I was pleased at how nicely it set up and how easily it scoops. It got raves from my family. I served some up with the strawberry sauce I made from a recipe found here. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Great flavor, but noticed that it froze rock solid. I'm using it as a base for shakes with frozen stawberries or blueberries and a little milk in the blender - great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
BEST ICE CREAM EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States