Vanilla Ice Cream IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a wonderful vanilla recipe taste like old fashioned vanilla ice-cream I ate as a kid! Love Love Love!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Yummy, hubby thought it was really rich - maybe even too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My husband bought an ice cream maker last weekend. This was the very first recipe we tried and LOVED IT! My 5 & 6 year olds thought it was the coolest thing ever to make their own ice cream. My husband and I think it is better than anything we can buy in the store. We will make this again and again over the upcoming HOT summer in Atlanta! Next time, we plan to try it with a different pudding flavor to add a little pizzazz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Great foundation to start...I did a number of customizing the receipe, but it wouldn't let me post them. But I used a number of splenda blend and reduced sugar products, I added white chocolate instants pudding (I'm thinking cheesecake might be good as well), added some vanilla and nutmeg for extra flavor... Being a diabetic and adopting four boys with ADHD and addicted to "sugar" due to their mother, I have to cut it out of them where ever I can and they beleive they are in full flavor with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I don't know how you can rate this recipe less than 4 stars if you followed the recipe. We have been trying different recipes for years. Most of them we liked but none came out like this. This recipe is outstanding. You know how you eat home made ice cream it is kind of watery or milky may be a better description. This is thick and creamy like ice cream should be. I can't wait to try more combination's of flavors. I think next will be banana pudding and fresh banana's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
In case you're browsing recipes wondering which is The One, you can stop here! My four kids and I made this yesterday. Just pulled it out of the freezer and conducted a blind taste test with Blue Bell as the contender. Truth is, they're almost exactly the same and the kids loved it. (Other home made recipes have gotten thumbs down from the kids). We heated the sugar and milk - held it just under a boil - and stirred in the beaten eggs. Cooked it for about 5 mins then pulled it off the stove top, added the rest and let it chill. 30 mins in the ice cream maker yielded a soft batch, but after a night in the freezer it's frozen solid. (Same as our Blue Bell). Also, fyi, since this was a "project" for my kids, they also did a cost comparison. Blue Bell was on sale in the store for $7.00 / gal. The ingredients for this batch was $6.90. Hope you enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My family loved this! Maybe I did something different, but I have no idea what the 4 cups of milk were for because I didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefslab

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Difficult for me to review this one as my children wouldn't comment on it. They were too busy inhaling it! Easy to make, since I have a 2.5 capacity ice cream machine I found myself making two batches with the recipe as written. Very much a "keeper" though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Cooked the mix to just boiling (don't want to be feeding the kids raw eggs) then whisked in the pudding and milk. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Peterson
Home Town: New Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This ice cream tastes like the old fashioned stuff that my grandma used to make, it was watery and left a not so great after taste in your mouth. I was going to use this ice cream in my birthday "Mud Pie" that's my familys traditional cake but i couldn't bring myself to contaminate my delicious cake with this ok at best ice cream. off to the store to pick up more ingredients for me. For all who did like this ice cream, i havea 2 quart ice cream machine and i could have halfed this recipe and been just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States