Vanilla Ice Cream IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Excellent homemade ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Let me preface this by saying that my husband really likes our usual homemade icecream recipe, but I find it a little too milky or icy. It's something we have agreed to disagree on over the years. That said, he asked me to make some for Father's Day this year. Having recently made our usual recipe for a family reunion, I decided to try something different. The only thing I changed, and it was an honest mistake, was to use skim milk instead of whole. I didn't cook it as others did. Our icecream maker is a 4 qt maker, and I added all 4 cups of skim milk, which left quite a bit of room (several inches) still at the top. You don't ever want to fill it up all the way, because as the ingredients cool, they expand and need more room. We left the ice cream maker running for over an hour, and needless to say, it was still creamy when we took it out, due to the skim milk. However, the taste was fantastic (we BOTH agreed) and after a night in the freezer, it was absolutely perfect. Not rock hard, as I feared it would be. I will definitely make this again, using whole milk (or at least 2%) instead of skim. I'm not sure if this will replace our usual recipe, because my husband is very attached to his milky/icy variety, but unlike other recipes I've tried, at least this one is a compromise we can both live with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
It went well! I used only half of the condensed milk so it wouldn't be as rich. My son said it tasted like ice cream and birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Scarbrough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Rich and creamy! Perfect. I did alter the recipe somewhat. I followed someone else's lead and used egg substitute instead of raw eggs, and I upped the vanilla to 2 full tablespoons instead of 1 teaspoon. (we like a very vanilla flavor) It was awesome. And the no cook, just mix in a bowl recipe was easy and quick. Will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this 2 times and my brother and family loved. This is requested every time we have a get together. Creamy and rich just the way we like vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Can make low fat version using same products, just low fat or fat free versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brambleberries

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I make this recipe as is- sooo delicious! I have other vanilla ice cream recipes, this one is by far the best. I make as is- no changes. I just make sure I use organic cage free eggs. I've made it several times (it is now a tradition at our house for 4th of july)- next time I think I will try adding fresh fruit to it like strawberries. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I have tried many vanilla ice cream recipes and this one is the winner. The texture is very creamy and the flavor very full. I used 1 pint of cream rather than 1/2 pint but other than that went strictly by the recipe. A very nice recipe for those that simply like vanilla and a good base for those that like to add other flavors. Bravo and thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
The directions (ie: add milk until it reaches the max line) were a little too vague. I'd suggest 2 cups of heavy cream and 3 cups of milk - otherwise, at least for me, it didn't set. Bear in mind that in MOST ice cream makers you'll have to make this twice, as the recipe is for a whole gallon. All that aside, this was DELICIOUS and VERY creamy! The pudding mix was JUST the perfect addition! A lot less calories than the recipe that came with my Cuisinart, too! (just under 200 per half cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States