Vanilla Ice Cream III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This recipie is great! It was a bit too sweet thought what with condensed milk and sugar, so I suggest not putting the sugar in, that's what I did and it tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is the second time I've made this and it comes out perfectly! Instead of the 6 cups of milk, I use 1 quart heavy cream and 2 cups milk. The texture is very smooth and creamy. No need to melt the sugar or anything. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
UPDATE.... THIS IS MY FAVORITE RECIPE!!! This recipe is the one that is most like real icecream. I now use this as a base for all kinds of flavors... The only thing I do differently is to use 2 pints of heavy whipping cream and 2 cups of whole milk. I find when you use both it defiantly tastes more like the ice cream you buy in stores and you don't end up w/ those ice crystals in it. So far I've made this plain for hot fudge sundays, I've made cookie dough... before freezing I just add chunks of cookie dough (also eggless that I got on this site... just follow suggestions in the reviews), I've made strawberry w/ crushed up fortune cookies in it (don't ask.. LOL), I've made choc chip using mini M&M's, I've made oreo.. I used a blender for half the package so I would have little specks of choc throughout the entire icecream and I crush up the rest of the package by hand so I've got some bigger chunks. Again, I add right before freezing and now my new favorite is mint choc chip. I just add 1 tbs of peppermint extract and before I freeze the icecream I added one Gharidelli (sp?) bittersweet chocolate bar that I chopped up into small pieces. It's even better than Bryers! Thanks for this recipe, I won't even try another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Pretty good and quick, too. It is a little "hollow" tasting. My ice cream maker can't handle 32 servings, so I put the extra into a gallon jug in my fridge; now I can make ice cream at a moment's notice. We just put about 1 3/4 cup mix into our 1 1/2 qt. machine. Turns out a little less than the 1 1/2 qt capacity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Raton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Easy, had a good taste, but needed something added, maybe more vanilla or some fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
A really great ice-cream recipe, it was so simple. I think i would add a little less suger next time i make it but thats just my personal taste. I will definatly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: ???, Cumbria, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe. I love it because it is simple and fast. Yes, it is a bit sweet, but who cares!! I'm going to use it to make cookies and cream. Yes, I am going to leave the sugar out for that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
We all liked this simple recipe. I have had creamier homemade ice cream, but this was so easy to do, and it really does have a nice texture. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
FANTASTIC!!! A few important things to note: check your ice cream maker as this recipe makes a lot of ice cream. I cut the recipe in half and it was still too much for our maker. I made the mix in a pitcher and just poured the appropriate amount in the mixer, leaving the rest in the pitcher to make another small batch later. Second, I used 2/3 heavy cream and 1/3 2% milk. Other reviewers mentioned they had ice crystals, but I did not have that problem. Right out of the ice cream maker, it was a bit like soft serve so I put the canister in the freezer for a few hours and wound up with some amazingly creamy and delicious ice cream! I also threw a small handful of chocolate chips in during the last 5 minutes of mixing, but I think miniature chips would be better. This is now my go-to vanilla ice cream recipe! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Way too sweet, I would cut back on the sugar. Even my daughter with a very sweet tooth said it was too sweet. I still gave it 4 because it's a simple recipe that is good, just very sweet. I will make it again with less sugar and also I did use more vanilla than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States