Vanilla Ice Cream III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I use 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream and 4 1/2 cups milk. I also do variations like adding crushed oreo cookies prior to the ice cream being fully set. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
It wasn't particularly tasty when "fresh", but was much better the next day after it had hardened in the freezer. Was good with toppings and fruit pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Definitely too sweet! This is one of the better, simpler recipes for non-custard style ice cream, though. I read many comments and didn't even try to add the cup of sugar. To simplify things, I put in 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, no sugar (a can of SCM has about 22g of sugar, about 1/4 a cup), and substituted a pint of half & half for a pint of milk, i.e. 4 c. milk (might do even more next time; heavy cream leaves a film in my mouth, but straight milk makes for more "ice milk" than ice cream). Very easy to halve this recipe if you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriswn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I had a sweet tooth for some vanilla ice cream yesterday, so i found this recipe and it seemed a bit unusual using evaporated milk and condensed milk,.... anyway long story short... NO.... it does not work, it never really freezes and it has a odd texture... sooo there are no short cuts for making ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very easy recipe and it tasted yummy. I did change the 6 cups of milk to 2 cups of cream and 4 cups of milk. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I love this. Very simple, and my kids love it to. I followed a few other reviews and reduced the sugar content and used some half and half and some milk. I also added 1/3 cup if coco, and used 1 tsp vanilla. My ten year old said it is the best chocolate ice cream he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
FANTASTIC!!! A few important things to note: check your ice cream maker as this recipe makes a lot of ice cream. I cut the recipe in half and it was still too much for our maker. I made the mix in a pitcher and just poured the appropriate amount in the mixer, leaving the rest in the pitcher to make another small batch later. Second, I used 2/3 heavy cream and 1/3 2% milk. Other reviewers mentioned they had ice crystals, but I did not have that problem. Right out of the ice cream maker, it was a bit like soft serve so I put the canister in the freezer for a few hours and wound up with some amazingly creamy and delicious ice cream! I also threw a small handful of chocolate chips in during the last 5 minutes of mixing, but I think miniature chips would be better. This is now my go-to vanilla ice cream recipe! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I am not sure if it is me and what I call ice cream, but bleh bleh bleh. I has the consistency and taste of coolwhip. When I mixed everything together it filled not even 1/2 of make ice cream maker. by the time it was done, it was to the top. Maybe I prefer "Ice Milk" it left a gross aftertaste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States