Vanilla Ice Cream II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was very good. I followed another cook's advice and reduced the recipe. My version was three eggs, 2 cans of evaporated milk, 1 cup of heavy whipping cream, one full tablespoon of vanilla, 1/2 cup of sugar, and 3/4 cup of sweetened condensed milk. Still came out excellent! Next time I might try a real vanilla bean or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franklin
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Very yummy! I did put all ingred in a large pot and used a hand blendr to mix smooth then cooked to a boil before chilling for 24 hours before making ice cream. Made 1/2 recipe and it was still more than my kitchen aid could make so added a little cocoa to the 2nd batch!!!! Yummy!!! Tasted like Wendy frosty and this ice cream doesn't freeze so hard you can't serve! This is r new favorite of the whole house. A scoop of vanilla and chocolate please. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
We were looking for a recipe that did not take heavy cream. This recipe was rich, creamy and delicious. We halved the recipe to be sure we would like it and although it does not freeze extremely hard, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I was making chocolate ice cream and I accidentally grabbed the almond extract instead of the vanilla. Chocolate Almond Ice Cream is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
It tastes like sweetened condensed milk ice cream. next time I'll half that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I cut this recipe in half using 3 eggs, 3 cans evaporated whole milk, 1 whole can whole milk sweetened condensed milk, 1 cup sugar, 1 T. vanilla for more vanilla flavor, and 1/2 whole milk. It was amazingly creamy and had the best consistency frozen. Not too hard. My husband said it was the best of the 3 recipes I tried. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Very good and easy too! I used egg substitute instead, as I have two small children, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I made this in my kitchenaid ice cream maker attachment. I'm not sure if it was the recipe or if it's just me, but in order for this to actually become ice cream, I had to make sure the mixture was almost frozen before I even put it in the ice cream maker (which had been sitting in my freezer for at least 24 hours before I used it). After churning for about 20 minutes, it started to look like ice cream. Then about 5 minutes later, it was back to looking like melty soft serve. So, after lots of re-freezing and re-churning, I finally had my ice cream. It was okay, kind of rich, but I will try and add more vanilla next time since the freezing process really takes that away... Also, this recipe freezes well. It doesn't turn into a brick, either. It just likes to stay kind of soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
My third grade class cooks each month. This recipe is easy to make with kids. It's so sweet that it didn't even need all of the toppings we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neligh, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States