Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
It was quick and easy, but tasted a little like Cool Whip and doesn't have that wonderful homemade ice cream flavor. We enjoyed it, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The flavor of this ice cream was really delicate and sweet. However, I had some problems with the consistency. Yes it's very smooth and creamy but it left a film in my mouth that was a turn-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was so tasty! Very, very easy! I didn't refrigerate for the three hours as the instructions noted. This did leave a little waxy feeling on my lips, but that didn't detract from the taste. I at least doubled the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
not creamy enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I used this recipe on the 4th of July to go with homemade pies and it was delicious. Very easy to make and not a lot of ingredients so the cost was reasonable. I mixed it up the day before which made it quick to make so I got right back to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Very good, very fast, very easy - this was my daughter's first experience making homemade ice cream and we both loved it. As for the people worried about fat content, ice cream probably should not be on your menu. Can't wait to try it with chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
My ice cream maker had a hard time freezing this. I do though think that it was the ice cream makers fault not the mix. I still haven't found my go to recipe for vanilla ice cream but I found I liked this one more then the cooked versions out there. I don't know if I'll try it again but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This recipe was greasy and turned yellow because of the richness of ingredients with too much butter fat. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I have made this recipe so many times I have lost count. I made a few changes. Instead of sugar I used 1 cup honey. I took the milk and threw it in the blender with my honey to blend it together well. I also reduced the amount of cream by 2 1/2 cups and replaced it with milk. Then instead of refidgerating it over night I just tossed it in the ice cream maker and enjoyed it. SO SIMPLE and delicious. I have made chocolate (added 1/3 cup coco)AND mint chocolate chip(I used peppermint extract instead of vanilla and tossed in some chocolate chips) By far my favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I use skim milk in place of the 1/2 and 1/2 for a little bit lighter ice cream. I've never refridgerated before just pouring into my ice cream maker. My absolute favorite vanilla ice cream. You can also use this as a base for just about any flavor you like--add 1tsp mint and choc chips, or some fresh berries, m&ms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States