Vanilla Honey Simple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Excellent recipe. Of course you will have to adjust it to your liking like any other recipe. However I utilized the ingredients asked for and did as the recipe asked. The only thing I did that was DIFFERENT was not mix everything up once the honey and butter was done in the microwave melting. Instead I poured a little bit of the milk and vanilla (mixed up already) into the honey and butter. I did not feel the need to let it sit in the refrigerator. It was great this way. Of course I through some of the milk and vanilla mix away because I only wanted to use a little bit which kept it from being so watery. Such a lovely taste. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Oh my vanilla! The syrup was verrrry liquidy...I put it in the freezer to try and get it to congeal...it only helped a little. The biggest issue here is the amount of vanilla. I made 4 servings of this and my gut told me 2tbs & 2tsp of vanilla sounded absurd, but I did it anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very good flavor. Just made for the first time. I am about to make pancakes, and know it will be great. It is very thin, not sure what to do about that, but it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made pancakes one morning and realized that we did not have any syrup. I looked this up & had all of the ingredients & it turned out great! We really enjoyed this. very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I did a test run on this syrup without having a reason to use it but I tasted delicious and I'll definitely whip them up the moment I'm in need of a syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Very good. Used coconut milk because I didn't have regular milk on hand. Used only one teaspoon of vanilla extract. Not very thick but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I upped this recipe to four servings. I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. That was the only change I made. We had this over Herman pancakes and it was so good--though it had a LOT of vanilla. Quadrupled, it was two tablespoons and two teaspoons of vanilla! I'd like to make this again cutting back a bit on the vanilla and with a touch of cinnamon. Very simple and a good fill in for when you're out of pancake syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
yum! the perfect light syrup with a delicious flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This had a very nice flavour. After chilling in the fridge for awhile, though, mine was still completely liquid, not syrup at all. I made it exactly as the recipe stated but perhaps I measured my butter incorrectly or something. No matter, even though it was liquid I put it on my oatmeal pancakes and it tasted great! UPDATE: I also recently made this to put on Strawberry Vanilla Pancakes from this site and that was a great flavour combo! Was still very liquidy again, but not a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is not the typical syrup but I really did like it. I put it on buttermilk pancakes and found it to be a light, pleasing taste. I did use 1 teaspoon of vanilla becuae 2 seemed too much. I could always add more I decided. For me 2 would have been too much. Do try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

All about Honey

Discover the sweet world of honey—the original, all-natural sweetener.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States