Vanilla Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by renstone
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great, easy recipe. It had a lovely taste to it and you can make it as thin or as thick as you like by altering the amount of milk you use. I was going for a glaze that just sort of drizzled over the bread I made so I added additional milk. Worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renstone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Half of this glaze was perfect for an 8x8 pan. After reading so many reviews, I used the modifications of 1 Tbsp. of butter and 1 Tbsp. of corn syrup. The corn syrup, while sweet, helped to set a real nice glaze. Therefore, I reduced the amount of confectioner’s sugar to about 1 cup adding a little at a time so it would not be too runny and overly sweet. I also incorporated 1T of milk until I got the desired consistency I was looking for. I felt the need to increase the vanilla by ½ tsp. I used this to drizzle over, “Apple Squares,” also from this site. It was simply perfect; a shiny and white “snowy” glaze, just what I wanted. It tasted creamy and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
So Easy! I followed the suggestions of others for milk and it was perfect. It tastes like the icing on the store bought cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
2 1/2 TABLESPOON of MILK (and 1 tablespoon butter) make this the perfect glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parker's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Tastes good, but my results weren't like those in the photos! I did make a half recipe, and changed the milk to tablespoons instead of teaspoons. How does it get so white? Mine was translucent. Is more milk, or the addition of corn syrup (some reviews mention this) necessary for white colour? Will try the recommended modifications the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
very light, and delicious. used it on a devils food bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
What I didn't like was that it tasted just like sugar to me, so I would definitely add lemon or orange juice/zest or something extra to enhance the taste. I did triple dip my Allrecipe "simple white cake recipe" cupcakes, since it was a little thin (I added too much extra milk). I'll try this again w/some alterations. Oh, and if you have problems w/lumps, sift the powdered sugar and whisk vigorously. That took care of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Exellent. I did as everyone else suggested and increased the milk. Super easy, Super fast, and went perfectly with the poppyseed loaf I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
The taste was great but my problem is that the sugar wouldnt dissolve very well :S it kept cracking between our teeth how do i solve that? (i used powdered sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States