Vanilla Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
i only used milk and confectioners sugar the first time i made this. i like it simple so i can add it to a bunch of different desserts. i usually do 2 c. suger and 2 T milk, i have added a touch of vanilla extract to it a couple times but i do like it with just the milk and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Good taste and hardens great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
sorry but this recipe as it stands is not good. it needs more vanilla and a LOT more milk! I couldn't even get a hard paste with that amount of milk, the sugar was still powdery in a weird moist way. maybe a typo problem. I doubled the vanilla and added about 6 and half tablespoons of milk instead of the stated 2 and half teaspoons. Once I did that the recipe is good provided you completely cool the cake before frosting it. I used this on the simple white cake recipe from this website and let it sit until it hardened. next time I think I might add just a little more vanilla and perhaps one or two drops of lemon extract just to give it a little kick without having an obvious lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
My thanks to Jamie for submitting this. Have used this recipe twice now - excellent results both time just add more milk as others have noted, otherwise I would have rated it 5. My changes: I used buttermilk only because it was all I had and it was even better than when I used regular milk! I used amaretto and almond extract instead of vanilla as I made this to drizzle on an almond bundt cake. This is a reliable recipe that could be used for cookies as well - just play with the milk and sugar quantities until you have the consistency you need. Lastly, if using this to drizzle on a cake, my suggestion would be to double the recipe. One batch wasn’t enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I had to use a bit more milk, and added a bit of flavored creamer, but otherwise fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Very good and easy to work with, although you do need to change the teaspoons to tablespoons for the milk. I also slightly increased the vanilla for my own personal taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I have a ball in my bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sta Strittmatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joann
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Easy and good, but I like it with less sugar.... a little too sweet for mel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Made as written 4 stars. Add more milk and then it's 5 stars. It was way too thick but once I added more milk it became the consistency I needed for my bunt cake. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States