Vanilla Crispies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
i have been making these for 25 years. They are a long time family favorite. Similar to a sugar cookie only better. We often roll out the dough and use cookie cutters and colored sugars. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Versatile, light tasting cookie! I experimented with the ball size, made a batch of 1/2 " size balls, one with inch size, and the leftover even bigger. Smashed them down with a glass coated with cinnamon sugar. Basically, the bigger the dough ball you start out with, the softer the cookie. Btw, the cinn sugar makes them taste almost like a snickerdoodle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
These sound like the cookies my grandmother made, but she called them tea cakes". I will try them and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Better than my great-great Aunt's sugar cookies, and the dough is less finicky, too (and a lot less apt to over-brown). Wonderful flavor! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Mysteriously alluring. I sell them at markets and for no apparent reason different customers just home in on them among the more than a dozen varieties I offer. What is driving me crazy though is why they sometimes turn out puffy like in the photo but most times flat (my daughter calls those epic space cookies). I've tried everything from varying the temperature to using different grades of flour, from triple-chilling and freezing to shaping the dough into little towers. The things have a mind of their own and do the opposite of how I want them to turn out. Guess I just gave myself a plausible answer but I'd be interested in a more scientific solution! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Makes excellent small cookies if you use a small scoop to prepare instead of making balls of dough. I did not refrigerate the dough either. Just scooped onto cookie sheet. Not an extremely crisp cookie, but has excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Very easy to make and delicious. Mine came out nice & crispy (think it's the cream of tarter that does the trick). If you make it a bit thinner it will be crispier but then just be careful that they dont break when you lift them from the baking tray. They do tend to spread a lot so leave enough space between cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These cookies have a wonderful vanilla flavor. I rolled them into balls and they flattened themselves. They made a very nice, soft cookie. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Smash cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Very tasty cookies. Followed the recipe very sticky, had to add about 1/2 cup more flour. Didn't cook in 8 to 10 minutes but much longer. Not crispy. Won't make these again. I'll stick to my chocolate chip cookies which never fail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States