Vanilla Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made these for mother's day, and I couldn't have been happier. I chose this recipe because of the vanilla, what a yummy addition to crepes! We covered them with jam, bananas, tripple berries (a frozen package that I thawed), Nutela, whip cream, & powdered sugar (though not all at once). I found that it was easiest to pour the batter into a pitcher (a 2 quart plastic one we use for juice), that way it was simple to pour just the right amount into the hot pan with little to no dripping. I also found that removing the pan from the burner to pour the batter made for a "less cooked" crepe - the ones I poured directly into the pan were browner on the first side, which, although just as delicious, didn't look as pretty. I love this recipe and will use it from now on when I make crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I'm 70 years old and have never made crepes. I decided I'd better try it while I'm still able. I'm glad I did. They were delicious with sliced fruit and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
The recipe was tasty and easy to follow. Really should have watched a video on the best way to cook these, though! Don't really know why you need to spray the pan with as much butter as is in these if you're using a nonstick pan. You can gently lift the edges as they crisp. Personally, I LOVE the spotted dalmatian type as I like crispier crepes. 15 seconds on the second side did NOT seem like enough time. I prefer these not to be soggy, and very thin! Served these with blueberries and strawberries dusted with powdered sugar and ate them by hand. YUM! Will use the leftovers for lunch and put strips of grilled chicken, garden tomatoes, lettuce and some mayo. YUMMERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Made according to recipe, egg yolks and lots of vanilla but prob 1/2 c more milk because I did not sift flour. First batch the other wee used blender, second time by hand. Found the blender mix cooked a bit rubberier than the hand mix. Also, I let the hand mix batch rest for about an hour prior to cooking. With my non stick frypam, had no trouble making thin, delicious crepes. Loved the flavour. I ate mine with fruit, my son with table syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Very simple to make and so good to eat. I used my electric skillet and it worked perfectly. I added blueberry pie filling and topped with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwaj1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
We made these wonderful crepes as our first try at crepes. SO easy and so delicious. Adding to recipe box and making again and again. Used almond filling and lemon custard filling found on allrecipes. YUMMMMMYYYYY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
A bit too oily for me but I just reduced the amount of butter. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Wonderful! My one year old loves them plain and we just put a sprinkle of powdered sugar on ours. Next time I'm going to mix some almond extract too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Really good recipe, the texture and flavor is perfect! Made mine by mixing everything in the blender and let sit for about 5-10 minutes before preparing. In the meantime made fillings. One caramelized banana with brown sugar and cinnamon and the other with canned guavas. Served also with vanilla ice cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
With a few changes, these were AWESOME! I cut back the butter to 3.5 tbls and vanilla to 1 tabls...I added roughly 2.5 cups of milk (as needed) and I used light brown sugar as opposed to white... I threw everything into a blender, and then strained the batter for lumps....I refrigerated it for a few hours, and it was perfect! I stuffed mine with fresh blueberries and marscapone, and topped with homemade blueberry compote....YUM!! I also did a savory version of these for lunch....I omitted the vanilla, cut the sugar back to 1 tbls, stuffed with ham and sharp cheddar and topped with a dijon mayo sauce....mmmmmmm....super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States