Vanilla Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
5 stars for these! These are my first ever homemade crepes. I added and extra 1/4 cup of milk so the batter was thinner and easier to spread. I sifted the dry Ing. into the wet and mixed well. Use a 10" skillet pan so you have spreading room and easier room to flip, keep temp on low so they don't brown too much. As they get done, stack between pieces of parchment paper or wax paper so they don't stick. We used nutella and fresh sliced strawberries in ours, dusted with powdered sugar. They were delish, even the kids loved them. (to be blogged)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I used 1 2/3 c of soy milk instead of regular milk. Excellent recipe! I also put all of the ingredients in a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
A great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
These were absolutely perfect crepes. The vanilla was a great addition, and contrasted nicely with the tartness of the blueberry sauce I accompanied the crepes with. I think next time I'll try to use Nutella and Bananas for filling, my daughter will go nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
amazing great with vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This were really greasy, rubbery and kind of an odd, sickly yellow/brown color. The batter was also WAY too thick for crepe batter. I put a spoonful in the pan and it wouldn't move when I tried to swirl it around. When you make crepes, you're not supposed to spread the batter it should spread easily and leave a thin layer in the pan. Even after I added an extra half cup of milk it was still really thick and greasy. I made 4 "crepes" thinking maybe I had added more oil than I thought to the pan and they were just sucking it up. After the 4th crepe came out as oily as the first, I ditched the rest of the batter and just added vanilla to a recipe I have used before. The taste of these was ok, but the texture was more rubber pancake than delicate crepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Filling possibilities are endless: fresh, hot applesauce, or cream cheese whipped with all different fruit or jams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These are ok first time around, but the batter is way too thick and 2 TABLESPOONS??? of vanilla is crazy, so I suggest 1 1/3 cups flour and 1 2/3 cups milk and 1 TEASPOON of vanilla. We ate them with strawberrys and the vanilla was overpowering and I love vanilla. They smell good while cooking and dont stick at all. Will re-try next week with less flour more milk and see how it goes. Couldnt just tip the pan to spread had to literally spread them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
"You outdid yourself this time!" was the response from my family members when I made this for brunch. I reduced the flour a bit and added more milk, and threw some blueberries sprinkled with sugar with a 1/4 c. water over high heat to form a sauce. Topped with whipped cream, this tastes like dessert, only a little healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were great crepes! We loved the vanilla! I did add just a bit more liquid as others have stated to make it thin enough to spread around. I changed the serving size from 12 to 4. Worked well. Next time I might use less butter (by just a little) because it was a little greasy. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States