Vanilla Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
amazing great with vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This were really greasy, rubbery and kind of an odd, sickly yellow/brown color. The batter was also WAY too thick for crepe batter. I put a spoonful in the pan and it wouldn't move when I tried to swirl it around. When you make crepes, you're not supposed to spread the batter it should spread easily and leave a thin layer in the pan. Even after I added an extra half cup of milk it was still really thick and greasy. I made 4 "crepes" thinking maybe I had added more oil than I thought to the pan and they were just sucking it up. After the 4th crepe came out as oily as the first, I ditched the rest of the batter and just added vanilla to a recipe I have used before. The taste of these was ok, but the texture was more rubber pancake than delicate crepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Filling possibilities are endless: fresh, hot applesauce, or cream cheese whipped with all different fruit or jams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These are ok first time around, but the batter is way too thick and 2 TABLESPOONS??? of vanilla is crazy, so I suggest 1 1/3 cups flour and 1 2/3 cups milk and 1 TEASPOON of vanilla. We ate them with strawberrys and the vanilla was overpowering and I love vanilla. They smell good while cooking and dont stick at all. Will re-try next week with less flour more milk and see how it goes. Couldnt just tip the pan to spread had to literally spread them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
"You outdid yourself this time!" was the response from my family members when I made this for brunch. I reduced the flour a bit and added more milk, and threw some blueberries sprinkled with sugar with a 1/4 c. water over high heat to form a sauce. Topped with whipped cream, this tastes like dessert, only a little healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were great crepes! We loved the vanilla! I did add just a bit more liquid as others have stated to make it thin enough to spread around. I changed the serving size from 12 to 4. Worked well. Next time I might use less butter (by just a little) because it was a little greasy. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My girls couldn't get enough of these crepes! All I added to this dish was whipped cream, though when I had a coffee get together at my home I added blueberries and blueberry sauce. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlan, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I have been using this recipe for a few years now... my kids ask for 'skinny pancakes' EVERY Saturday! TIPS...I use a regular frying pan and keep them warm in the oven until I accumulate a pile. The only changes I make are: Use 2 whole eggs instead of just 3 yolks, Add an additional 1/2 C. of milk to thin out the batter. This helps when you swirl the batter around the pan to get a nice thin crepe. Other than that, Perfect!! I don't even have to grease the pan. I had never made crepes before trying this recipe, but now I feel like a pro!! Thanks for the recipe, it is now a tradition in our house too :) For an easy topping simmer blueberries and strawberries in some pancake syrup & a bit of water. Mash them up a bit and you have a delicious 2-berry syrup. I have always wanted to try these crepes as a dessert topped with ice cream and berry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Followed the suggestions of adding more milk and using 3 whole eggs. These were AMAZING! I added a cream cheese mixture inside (8 oz. cream cheese with 1/3 cup sugar and a dash of vanilla) and topped with Lingonberries. EXCELLENT! Husband loved them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very tasty! Made as listed-except I used 3 whole eggs b/c I was too lazy to separate them- and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States