Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I'm a huge cherry vanilla fan. I followed the recipe exactly and it was just not a hit. Almond was too strong, vanilla was not strong enough. Maybe the milk and cream need a vanilla bean simmered with it and not just extract added? It also made this weird film-feeling inside my mouth. The cherries had poor texture with big ice crystals. Maybe maraschino cherries would do better? We threw the rest away and won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeperathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I had high hopes for this recipe and it did not disappoint. Only change was to reduce amount of almond extract to 1/4 tsp. For me, that was perfect. It really works best to quarter the cherries and add them during the last few minutes so as not to have them all sink to the bottom. This is decadent and refreshing. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Mmm Mmm Mmm! Thank you Shay for a recipe that uses fresh cherries! Based on previous comments, I did cut the cherries in quarters and used just over half a teaspoon of almond extract. My friends raved about this ice cream! When I make this recipe again (and I WILL make it again), I'm going to cut back on the almond flavoring even more (maybe 1/4 tsp) and add an ounce or two of high quality dark chocolate - shaved. It will taste a lot like Ben & Jerry's Cherry Garcia. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This ice cream is great! Even without the cherries it would make a great vanilla/almond ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I completely agree that 1 tsp of almond extract is plenty and smaller bits of cherries work better in my machine, but this is an awesome recipe and is my new summer favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Loved it! Great use of our overflowing Glacier (sweet cherry) tree. Also only used 1/2 tsp of almond extract, but what a great base. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This ice cream is delicious. I halved the almond extract as several reviewers recommended but I found that the taste was still a little too strong. I cut the cherries in quarters but when freezing they all sunk to the bottom. Next time I will cut them even smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was so good, I did cut the almond extrct in half. We didn't miss it. The only problem with this recipe is cutting and pitting fresh cherries. But oh so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This is the best ice cream I have ever had! The only thing I did different was add some vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The ice cream is quite good, but a little too heavy on the almond flavoring - it is VERY evident. Were I to make this again, I would reduce the almond extract by half or eliminate it altogether. After all, this is called Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream, not Almond Cherry Ice Cream. I like my ice cream rich, so as I always do I used 2 c. heavy cream, 1 c. half and half, and added two eggs. Beat the eggs for 1-2 minutes, gradually add the sugar, beat another minute to dissolve the sugar, then add cream, half and half and flavoring. I used frozen Door County cherries, which I thawed, quartered, and added during the last few minutes of churning. Rich, velvety smooth mouth feel and intensely cherry. Definitely worth a repeat, but definitely with reducing the amount of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States