Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This is the best ice cream I have ever had! The only thing I did different was add some vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The ice cream is quite good, but a little too heavy on the almond flavoring - it is VERY evident. Were I to make this again, I would reduce the almond extract by half or eliminate it altogether. After all, this is called Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream, not Almond Cherry Ice Cream. I like my ice cream rich, so as I always do I used 2 c. heavy cream, 1 c. half and half, and added two eggs. Beat the eggs for 1-2 minutes, gradually add the sugar, beat another minute to dissolve the sugar, then add cream, half and half and flavoring. I used frozen Door County cherries, which I thawed, quartered, and added during the last few minutes of churning. Rich, velvety smooth mouth feel and intensely cherry. Definitely worth a repeat, but definitely with reducing the amount of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I used a jar of drained marchino cherries and it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
OMG! This is soooo good! I doubled the recipe and I used some pitted frozen cherries (quartered)from grandma's tree. I used half the cream and the other half was fat free half and half, and I used fat free milk because that is all I had and it is so amazing! Blew away the peach ice cream we had a couple weeks ago! Super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I made this with skim milk and it was still fine. I also used frozen cherries (I quartered them). Can't wait to try it with peaches and nectarines. So yummy... loved the almond in the background.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Really good! We liked it even without the cherries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
We had fresh picked Bing cherries and used them in this ice cream. It was so delicious. It was easy to substitute Splenda so even my diabetic mother-in-law could share with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Cutting cherries in quarters would be my only suggestion for improving this recipe. If you just cut them in half, they are a little too large and like hard balls when frozen. They are much more manageable in quarters. Otherwise I really loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haacktastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
YUM! Exactly what I was looking for. Easy recipe and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was my favorite flavor of ice cream I've made so far! Everyone who tasted it loved it. I wish there was a way to make it healthier and keep the great flavor. I would also cut the cherries into smaller pieces and maybe use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States