Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Loved the taste, but the cherry pieces were too big. I only halved the cherries, but next time, I will chop them more finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Maraschino cherries are packed in a syrup with almond extract. Smell some bitter almond or almond extract. It smells like maraschinos. The recipe calls for fresh cherries, so adding almond extract would be correct. 1 teaspoon may be too much. Many recipes must be experimented with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very yummy and refreshing! Will keep this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Like many other members, I omitted the almond extract. I like a lot of flavor in my ice cream, so I pureed an additional cup of cherries and added that to the other ingredients. I also shaved a piece of semi-sweet bakers chocolate, and that was great. This is an awesome recipe I'll be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
very good and creamy! this was just what i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Great flavor. Tastes very much like cherry garcia made by ben and jerry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good and creamy. My only changes were to use 2% milk and a 16oz. jar of maraschino cherries, drained and cut in half. In error, I used an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract instead of almond. (I grabbed the wrong bottle) I will definitely be making this again. Thank you FutureChefShay for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
For people that enjoy good homemade ice cream, this recipe should be skipped. Was skeptical going in due to the lack of ingredients/steps and it was for good reason. If it's your first time making ice cream, maybe this is a good first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I had really high hopes for this but it was just okay. Grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I'm a huge cherry vanilla fan. I followed the recipe exactly and it was just not a hit. Almond was too strong, vanilla was not strong enough. Maybe the milk and cream need a vanilla bean simmered with it and not just extract added? It also made this weird film-feeling inside my mouth. The cherries had poor texture with big ice crystals. Maybe maraschino cherries would do better? We threw the rest away and won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeperathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States