Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This hasn't even finished freezing yet and I love it! Super yummy- tasted it right out of the ice cream maker. Doubled the recipe, cut the almond extract in half, used frozen pitted cherries from Costco - HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
really good recipe... i have been making ice creams for a while and this is a great non-cook base to build other recipe ideas on. many other comments said too much almond extract, i left the almond alone and changed the sugar to just under 2/3. i waited until the last 5 minutes of freezing time to add the cherry pieces, which were finely chopped. i also added grated dark chocolate and slivers of almond nuts to make it a cherry almond ice cream... really big hit with my dinner party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Too easy! I did reduce almond extract to 1/2 tsp which I think was the perfect amount. It did taste a bit like flavored cool whip though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Loved the taste, but the cherry pieces were too big. I only halved the cherries, but next time, I will chop them more finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Maraschino cherries are packed in a syrup with almond extract. Smell some bitter almond or almond extract. It smells like maraschinos. The recipe calls for fresh cherries, so adding almond extract would be correct. 1 teaspoon may be too much. Many recipes must be experimented with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very yummy and refreshing! Will keep this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Like many other members, I omitted the almond extract. I like a lot of flavor in my ice cream, so I pureed an additional cup of cherries and added that to the other ingredients. I also shaved a piece of semi-sweet bakers chocolate, and that was great. This is an awesome recipe I'll be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
very good and creamy! this was just what i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Great flavor. Tastes very much like cherry garcia made by ben and jerry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good and creamy. My only changes were to use 2% milk and a 16oz. jar of maraschino cherries, drained and cut in half. In error, I used an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract instead of almond. (I grabbed the wrong bottle) I will definitely be making this again. Thank you FutureChefShay for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States