Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
The basic aspect of this recipe is great. It is straight up simple and quick and makes an ice cream that's not too rich and not too sweet. To my mind though, to make it truly "vanilla cherry", it needs only a tiny drop of almond extract, and the cherries should be added in near the end of processing. The almond essence essentially wiped out the vanilla, and my very ripe fresh cherries were a little too well blended in. It did have a great cherry-almond flavor, and I would make it again if I wanted a strictly cherry ice cream, but I'd also add in some chocolate chunks to give it some more interest and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
So good. To fit in my ice cream maker I had to halve the recipe. I used 1 cup heavy cream, 1 cup half and half but still used 2 cups cherries, which I quartered. Got rave reviews from family members!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I did like this recipe but I did have to modify it a bit. I cut back the sugar to half a cup and left out the almond extract (not something I keep stocked in my pantry). I also combined everything in the blender and mixed it that way so that there were small pieces of cherries and the sugar was more evenly mixed so it wouldn't be grainy. I just wish I would have had some chocolate chunks to add to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It was just what I was looking for! I've been looking for an easy recipe without eggs or condensed milk. I followed the recipe except I used jarred cherries instead (because cherries are not in season yet), and put some of the juices from the jar but it was good without that. I added melted chocolate to it while it mixed. It was so good and would of been great without my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is an excellent basic vanilla ice cream. You can add the cherries or add candy or whatever. So easy and very very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved the almond flavoring. This ice cream was very good...I only used 1 and 1/2 cups of cherries and thought even that was a little heavy handed when all was frozen up. I did add a 1/4 cup of tart cherry juice concentrate and 2 dark chocolate bars that I diced up. Yum! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
made this yesterday, was very good...i did use the almond extract and we liked it...next time we make this i will cut the cherries in quarters and rough cut some of them...it was really refreshing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Delicious and so simple! I used fresh Rainier and Bing cherries and followed the recipe exactly as written. The almond flavoring sets it apart from just plain vanilla ice cream. I like that there's no eggs and no cooking involved. Took me 10 min to put together. I'm making this for our 4th of July gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinziaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Followed the directions to a t, except coarse sugar instead of granulated sugar. Pretty yummy, but some would find it overly sweet. Definitely would make this again, considering it was so easy. No eggs, so didn't have to cook the custard! NOTE: This happened to make a tad bit too much for my ice cream maker. Maybe cut back on a tiny bit of sugar or cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Love the undertone of the almond, just make sure you are conservative with it as a little goes a long way. I scaled down the recipe because we don't like to eat a lot of this, it is nice for a different flavor once in a while. You could serve this with chocolate, whipped cream or crushed graham crackers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States