Vanilla Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
After reading the reviews, I was very cautious about the baking time and checked on the blondies after 25 minutes. They were perfect, golden on top, soft and moist, but not undercooked. I did not add any chocolate, although I think white chocolate chips would have been great. The only change I made was to add an extra 1/2 teaspoon vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYCAT1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belle Mead, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Very good - the batter tasted a lot like chocolate chip cookie dough, but after baking the brown sugar gave them a more caramel-y taste that was fabulous. (Plus my son dumped in extra vanilla which gave them a strong vanilla taste!) I baked them in a 9x13" pan for about 35 minutes or so, and they came out perfectly - a little crisp at the edges and a little softer in the middle, just like bar cookies should be. Fantastic recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
These were delicious brownies! I had tried other "blondie" recipes, but none that were just right. This recipe is just that. Perfect. I took these to a party, and they were gone in minutes. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
My 13 year old made these and they were really good. I left her to her own devices, she baked them in an 11 x 8 glass baking dish instead of the jellyroll pan. It took longer for them to bake, but they were chewy with a nice vanilla flavor. She didn't have chocolate chips. I'm not sure I would add them, it might be too rich and sweet, they are sweet without the chips, and would kill the notion of being vanilla. They were great just the way my daughter made them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
don't bake too long!!! the baking on this recipe is way to long, make sure you check at 15-20 minutes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I didn't have any chocolate,but was craving some brownies so I chose to make these...they were pretty good! I did cut out 1/4 cup of white sugar and increased the vanilla to 1 tblespn. I also used shortening instead of butter, cooked for 25 minutes and viola! perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made as recipe states (no chocolate chips), though I only had to bake for 25 minutes in my small oven. I hate to say this, as I LOVE sweet, but these were too sweet, even for me! Texture was nice, but regrettably, I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Okay...I must be the only person in the world that tried this recipe and didn't like it. They were too dry, too hard...too bland. Even made a second batch thinking I had messed up the first one. But that is just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This is the best blonde brownie recipe. It would be so good with white chocolate chips or just macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
good--but far too sweet. the second time i made them i reduced the sugar to 3/4 c each of brown and white sugar, added white chocolate chips and chopped almonds, and reduced the baking time to 25 minutes. those were a huge hit among my friends, even the ones who demanded chocolate chips the first time. i also find they have less of a tendency to stick if baked in a glass pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States