Vanilla Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
good--but far too sweet. the second time i made them i reduced the sugar to 3/4 c each of brown and white sugar, added white chocolate chips and chopped almonds, and reduced the baking time to 25 minutes. those were a huge hit among my friends, even the ones who demanded chocolate chips the first time. i also find they have less of a tendency to stick if baked in a glass pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
It's good but, entirely too rich. I think the sugar content is overboard. If you like this recipe I would suggest you try the butterscotch brownie recipe from the Toll House site. It's awesome. Even if you're not a butterscotch fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
these came out hard and a little burnt, and i put them in for only 30 min., i don't know if the times are wrong on the recepie or if my oven is really fast. But they weren't bad, i prefer chocolate though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
super easy and delicious! I cut the baking powder back to 2 teas and increased the vanilla to two teaspoons. It only took about 27 minutes for my oven though. Thanks Stephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Hmmmm, I dunno about this one. I followed the recipe exactly as listed and I got a jelly pan of hard bricks! I thought this was a total waste of ingredients and was really dissapointed since it had such great reviews. I don't know what I did wrong but I baked it at 350 for 35 minutes and it was burnt on the edges big time! Thanks anyway Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
These were good, but they seemed like they needed chocholate chips of some sort (and I'm not even a chocoholic). This recipe is basically tollhouse cookies without the chocolate chips. I was expecting something wildly different. Still good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I made these just on a whim and my husband absolutly loved them! I WILL be making this again. Rebecca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Okay...I must be the only person in the world that tried this recipe and didn't like it. They were too dry, too hard...too bland. Even made a second batch thinking I had messed up the first one. But that is just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I brought these to a potluck of 30-somethings and they were a huge hit. Essentially, they reminded me a lot of chocolate-chip bar cookies... only chewier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKINE22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
These were so good, my boyfriend loves vanilla, and he couldn't get enough of these brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States