Vanilla Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Very good! These did remind me of chess bars in a way. Very moist in center. My favorite part would be the top, (flaky yummy layer). I used 2 tsp of vanilla instead of 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
These always turn out well! I usually reduce the sugars to 1 cup each and decrease the baking time to about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
don't bake too long!!! the baking on this recipe is way to long, make sure you check at 15-20 minutes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
These came out perfect! chewy middles and a crispy crust..just like brownies should be..yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
AWESOME! I make these all the time and always include the chocolate chips. they're probably also good with walnuts or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
These did not come out as well as I had hoped. They were much too sweet. Also, they formed a hard "crust" on the top, and I think the recipe calls for too many chocolate chips. My kids liked them, but they could only eat small pieces, due to them being too sweet. If I decide to make these again, I will definitely cut back on the sugar and the chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I made these as a treat to take on a plane ride to a wedding. There were several young people in the group. The brownies didn't even make it to the airport! I threw in a bag of peanut butter chips instead of chocolate (didn't want chocolate mess on the airplane). They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
After reading the reviews, I was very cautious about the baking time and checked on the blondies after 25 minutes. They were perfect, golden on top, soft and moist, but not undercooked. I did not add any chocolate, although I think white chocolate chips would have been great. The only change I made was to add an extra 1/2 teaspoon vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYCAT1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belle Mead, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Very good - the batter tasted a lot like chocolate chip cookie dough, but after baking the brown sugar gave them a more caramel-y taste that was fabulous. (Plus my son dumped in extra vanilla which gave them a strong vanilla taste!) I baked them in a 9x13" pan for about 35 minutes or so, and they came out perfectly - a little crisp at the edges and a little softer in the middle, just like bar cookies should be. Fantastic recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I promised my family vanilla brownies and ended up serving them square-cut sugar cookies... weren't bad, just not what I was expecting :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States