Vanilla Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, but opted not to add the chocolate chips, and it just tasted really sweet but bland. The consistency was more like coffee cake. My boyfriend liked these, but not as 'brownies.' Mine baked maybe 5 to 10 minutes quicker, but all bakers know to check and never rely on times, they're only guidelines since ovens vary in temperature. (I'm really surprised how many people don't know that on this site.) Since it was already so sweet, I'm going to try a modification: without white sugar, with butterscotch chips and marshmallows, and only 1 tsp of baking powder. Really wasn't impressed, but I see it as a good starting base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I had read all reviews- good and bad, and I really wanted to be on the side of all those that rated good...but I cannot. These DID NOT turn out for me. It took forever to cook (using an 8x11 which someone suggested worked good for them)so I had to burn the outside to get it to cook. Then when it did cook, it was like glue on the inside. NEVER making these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I didn't have any chocolate,but was craving some brownies so I chose to make these...they were pretty good! I did cut out 1/4 cup of white sugar and increased the vanilla to 1 tblespn. I also used shortening instead of butter, cooked for 25 minutes and viola! perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Love these! I add mini m&m's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Next time try white chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I can't imagine having these without the chocolate chips. These were nothing more than a chocolate chip blonde brownie. Good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
OUTSTANDING with the changes suggested by JANE37. I cut the sugars to 3/4 C each and used only 2 eggs -- the dough was a great consistency. With the complaints about the middle being underdone (and because I'm shipping these to friends in the military to share with their buddies), rather than baking as bars, I put 1/4 C of dough in foil muffin cups and baked @ 350' for 25 minutes (there was just enough dough for 18 individual cups). The tops are "bitey" (not crunchy, but not soft...) and the consistency of the middle is a cross between a cookie and a cake. I added 1 C caramel / choco swirl chips and 1 C choco chips, and I used half soy margarine and half butter-flavored shortening, because that's what I had in the pantry. These are now a permanent part of my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
My 13 year old made these and they were really good. I left her to her own devices, she baked them in an 11 x 8 glass baking dish instead of the jellyroll pan. It took longer for them to bake, but they were chewy with a nice vanilla flavor. She didn't have chocolate chips. I'm not sure I would add them, it might be too rich and sweet, they are sweet without the chips, and would kill the notion of being vanilla. They were great just the way my daughter made them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCPARKER
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Yum! These are so good! Sweet tasting treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
As is, I thought the brownies were too sweet and too eggy. The second time around, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup each and used 2 eggs instead of 3. The result was fantastic. I've also made them with a layer of caramel in the middle, which makes them that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States