Vanilla Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Next time try white chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I can't imagine having these without the chocolate chips. These were nothing more than a chocolate chip blonde brownie. Good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
OUTSTANDING with the changes suggested by JANE37. I cut the sugars to 3/4 C each and used only 2 eggs -- the dough was a great consistency. With the complaints about the middle being underdone (and because I'm shipping these to friends in the military to share with their buddies), rather than baking as bars, I put 1/4 C of dough in foil muffin cups and baked @ 350' for 25 minutes (there was just enough dough for 18 individual cups). The tops are "bitey" (not crunchy, but not soft...) and the consistency of the middle is a cross between a cookie and a cake. I added 1 C caramel / choco swirl chips and 1 C choco chips, and I used half soy margarine and half butter-flavored shortening, because that's what I had in the pantry. These are now a permanent part of my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
My 13 year old made these and they were really good. I left her to her own devices, she baked them in an 11 x 8 glass baking dish instead of the jellyroll pan. It took longer for them to bake, but they were chewy with a nice vanilla flavor. She didn't have chocolate chips. I'm not sure I would add them, it might be too rich and sweet, they are sweet without the chips, and would kill the notion of being vanilla. They were great just the way my daughter made them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCPARKER
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Yum! These are so good! Sweet tasting treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
As is, I thought the brownies were too sweet and too eggy. The second time around, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup each and used 2 eggs instead of 3. The result was fantastic. I've also made them with a layer of caramel in the middle, which makes them that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Very good! These did remind me of chess bars in a way. Very moist in center. My favorite part would be the top, (flaky yummy layer). I used 2 tsp of vanilla instead of 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
These always turn out well! I usually reduce the sugars to 1 cup each and decrease the baking time to about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
don't bake too long!!! the baking on this recipe is way to long, make sure you check at 15-20 minutes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
These came out perfect! chewy middles and a crispy crust..just like brownies should be..yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States