Vanilla Bean Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I am not a big fan of Cheesecakes but was asked to make one. I choose this recipe and it turned out great. The only thing I would change the next time is to add more vanilla bean or extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used 1 additional vanilla bean for the filling (I had several I wanted to use up) and Graham Cracker Crust I from this site. I did have additional filling and made individual cupcakes using Nilla wafers for the crust. Everyone loved them. I will make this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcoop3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this and it was a hit. I did make some minimal changes. Instead of using regular cream cheese, I used Cinnamon Swirl Cream Cheese because I love Cinnamon as a spice. I just made a graham cracker crust, but other than those changes I stuck to the recipe and it came out great. There was ample enough filling left for me to make 8 mini pies. This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and it was delicious. I would add a little more vanilla, as others have said, but that is just a minor change. The crust is perfect - much better than a vanilla wafer crust or graham cracker. It tasted better the longer it sits in the fridge, so I'd suggest making a few days in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Excellent recipe. I did make it with the traditional graham cracker crumb coating for the sides and bottom, but the cookie coating sounds really good. The only difference I did with the actual cheesecake was add two tbs of flour as I had seen that recommended on a couple of other sites (I don't know if this really made a difference in the end product). The Cheesecake was outstanding and it was the first time that I had worked with actual vanilla beans. Too much fun. Thanks for this definate keeper!!!!!!! Kass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnstown, New York, USA
Living In: Gloversville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nilla
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I'm rating the actual cheesecake part because I went with a traditional graham cracker crust instead of the vanilla sandwich cookie crust. I had just found a super good buy on fresh vanilla beans and was searching for the perfect recipe to showcase them. This is the recipe I chose and it is delicious! It's a somewhat dense cheesecake - not light or fluffy in any way. Even though I put the seeds of 3 whole vanilla beans into my cheesecake batter, the telltale black specks were not evident. But even so, the flavor was out of this world. I must comment on the baking time though. My cheesecake ended up being in the oven for close to 2 hours even though the recipe states 1 hour 20 minutes. I was so worried it would be dry but I shouldn't have worried. I turned off the oven when the very middle of the cheesecake was only slightly still jiggly and then left it in the turned off oven, with the oven door ajar, for another hour. Then I wrapped it well (still in the unmolded springform pan) in plastic wrap and placed it in the fridge overnight. Let me add that after it had cooled all night the middle was slightly lower than the sides so it wasn't the prettiest cheesecake and I'm not sure what caused that sinking but it didn't effect the texture or flavor. In fact, the texture of the cheesecake was very even throughout - whether next to the crust or in the middle of the cake. I topped mine with a lovely seedless raspberry sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I find the Madigascar beans impart the vanilla flavor most are familiar with, so I used those. I figured that since I'm using the real thing with the beans, I couldn't just use artificially flavored vanilla cookies for the crust -so I used homemade vanilla bean sugar in a graham cracker crust! Was really good! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Best cheesecake recipe EVER. Added an extra vanilla bean to the cheesecake, might take a smidge of sugar out next time, and doesn't need to sit in the oven for an hour and a half. I left mine in for an hour and then let it sit in the springform pan for another hour. Made some blueberry sauce to go along with -- superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This rating is for the crust only. Using Vanilla Oreos is a fabulous idea. I used it with my old standby cheesecake recipe and it made it even better. I would reccomend using a food processor to finely grind the cookies though. Makes the whole process a lot easier. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CornflakeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Overall this cheesecake was delicious. Hubby said best cheesecake I have made yet. I would agree with others that this would have been better with graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spdr8sr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States