Vanilla Bean Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Yum! Best cheesecake I've ever had! I only did a few things differently, I used kirkland vanilla (winnie the pooh) crackers for the crust and I used 3 tbsp of Madagascar bourbon pure Vanilla bean paste, in the filling only, I also didn't have heavy cream, so I used the melted butter mixed with milk trick. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Absolutely without a doubt, the best cheesecake I have ever had! My family begs me to make it! It is rich so a small slice is all you will need. I leave out the vanilla bean in the the crust- it is not needed and the beans in the store come in jars of two anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I have made alot of cheesecake's, this one takes the prize. Very creamy lots of taste !!!! My family loved it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
DELISH!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. A few changes I made... I used all three vanilla beans in the filling because it didn't mix well in the crust. Second, I greased the spring form pan very well which made the cheesecake come out easily. Then I mixed the melted butter with the ground up vanilla wafers to make the crust. To ground up the vanilla wafers, I used a blender. Only do a handful at a time because otherwise they will jam up. Great recipe loved by all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I made this for someone else so I didn't get to try it, but she said it was the best cheesecake she's ever tasted, period. The vanilla beans here are $10 each so I only used the two for the cake and didn't put any in the crust. I baked this in a water bath after encasing the pan in foil and it took 5 minutes longer than stated, probably just my oven. It turned out beautifully. The next day after chilling, I glazed it with chocolate ganache and splattered white and semisweet chocolate all over it, then masked it with a border of chocolate sprinkles. Very awesome looking in person! My cheesecake weighed in at 6 pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
My family loves cheesecakes so when I found this recipe I had to try it. It was fabulous! My family now wants me to make two cheesecakes this one and my cappuccino cheesecake. When making my cappuccino cheesecake, I also use an Oreo cookie crust recipe and the water bath method and it comes out prefect every time. If you do not use the water bath method when using an Oreo cookie crust base, the crust will come out overcooked and have a burnt taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Awesome recipe! I doubled the recipe because I was cooking for alot of family and it was gone. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
amazing!!!!!!!!! my springform pan broke, so i used a 9X13 and it worked just as well...i improvised and placed another 9X13 pan of just water on the other rack in my oven and it worked perfectly.....even had enough batter to make little individual cheesecakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars only because I changed so many things about it. The main part is that I used 1/2 mascarpone and 1/2 cream cheese. Also, if you're going to bother using real vanilla beans, don't throw vanilla extract in there (which is likely not that high quality anyway), just use about 5 vanilla beans, and you're fine. And if you actually want to TASTE the cheesiness, then use 1/2 the sugar recommended. Using 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream also doesn't take a way from the flavor, and keeps the flavor lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This amazing... I love vanilla beans. I did use 3 vanilla beans (you can buy them on ebay for a really good deal). One thing I found out is that vanilla beans lose their flavor if cooked over 300 degrees so be careful when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States