Vanilla Bean Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My husband loved this cheesecake! He is a bit of a cheesecale oficiando (sp), and he approved :-) His reposnse was that it was "cheesecake like a professional". I didn't use the crushed cookies. I used a premade graham craker crust and a poured melted butter on it and allowed that to sit while I prepared the filling. Following the recipe for the filling exactly made a lot of filling for the premade crust so next time I will cut the recipe in half or buy 2 pie crusts (one to give away...definitely too rich to keep in the house). Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
AMAZING! This has become a thanksgiving tradition. My family asks me to make it every year. Some people who have tried it says its the best cheesecake they have ever had. The only difference I made was I added one more vanilla bean. Amazing. Thank you for sharing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My husband hates cheesecake and always begs me to make this one. I did omit the vanilla bean from the crust and just added it to the batter. I usually make mini cheesecakes (2in), and it is the perfect amount of batter and crust to make 48. It took me a while to figure out the temp and time I needed to cook the minis for, but I finally got it. I put a metal bowl of water on the bottom rack and cook on 300 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes. I only have one pan, so it takes a while, but it is worth it. I've started to make these for every party we have or go to. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I was not thrilled by this recipe in any sort of way. I wish I hadn't wasted really expensive vanilla beans on it. It was ok cheesecake but not anything spectacular and didn't really showcase the vanilla bean very well (which is what I was hoping for). Adding the vanilla bean to the crust didn't add to it at all so I definitely wouldn't do that if you are going to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I appreciate the recipe, but the artifical cookies and the real vanilla were off to me. I think it would be better with graham cracker crust. I put three vanilla beans in the cake and left it out of the crust like many suggested. I will keep looking but thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This cheesecake was amazing! My husband hates cheesecake and has asked that I make it again sometime. I made one with a store bought graham cracker crust and 1 with the Golden Oreo crust. The Golden Oreo crust is definitely worth the time and efort. Although I nixed the beans in the crust and added them to the cheesecake filling instead. Overall, I used 4 beans in the filling. and ditched the extract. I thought adding my cheap extract with my good beans seemed wrong. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Excellent!!!! Very impressive and very easy. Made one yesterday for a potluck....made another today just for my family..This is my receipe for now on.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
One word: WOW!! This was excellent. Next time, however, I would not put the vanilla bean in the crust, I would just throw it into the batter with the other beans. This was my first time working with vanilla beans, and I will definitely be making this again. It did make a lot more batter than necessary, so I have a bowl of frozen, unbaked batter that I'm hoping I can use soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Excellent Cheesecake. Could have used more vanilla beans, but it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smithchelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made exactly as directed, great recipe. Just makes too much, enough for a full 10" cheesecake plus a pan of mini's and still had a lot left over. Maybe scale back the amounts so there is less waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States