Vanilla Bean Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
One of the best cheesecakes I have had. My father in law requests it every year for his birhday. I do not add the vanilla bean to the cookie crust as I feel it does not do that much as far as taste goes. I have made this several times and it comes out perfectly every time. Amazing! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
So tasty! Everybody ADORED the crust and the filling was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliefaas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I used a graham cracker crust & added 2 extra vanilla beans into the batter. It still didn't have a strong vanilla flavor but it was very good cheesecake! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
First, let me start by saying I make cheesecakes, a lot of them. Right now this is the reigning favorite. I follow the recipe other than: adding 4 vanilla beans, and I cook it a little differently. I cook all my cheesecakes the same, 325 degrees, in a water bath. To do this, wrap the bottom of your pan with a double layer of aluminum foil, place the springform pan in a roasting pan, then fill the pan with boiling water until it is half way up the side of your springform pan. Most importantly, your cheesecake is done when it jiggles slightly in the middle, don't wait until a knife comes out clean, it will be overdone. Then, place it on your counter after baking for about 30 minutes, then put into the refrigerator, uncovered for a few hours. Then wrap with plastic and let it set overnight, yes, you need to wait. This produces a perfectly baked, creamy, crack free cheesecake every time, regardless of the type of cheesecake. This one is super good, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Not the best I've ever had, but very tasty! I used Nilla Wafers for the crust and no vanilla pod in the crust itself. I did low fat cream cheese, 4 vanilla pods (perfect amount of black specks) and whipping cream in the batter. Mine cracked in the oven but still tasted very good. Served with fresh strawberries, it was *very* yummy. A little tweaking and it could easily be a 5 star for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I love this recipe, have made it several times, and it never disappoints. I haven't ever used the oreo cookies for the crust though, I am a die-hard graham cracker crust fan, however I have used I cup finely chopped pecans and 1 cup finely ground graham crackers for a different taste and crunchiness to the crust. The filling as per this recipe is divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
this was great, but did do some changes - used 4 vanilla beans in the cream cheese mixture and left out the extract. I also used a graham cracker crust from the site instead of the cookies, but added one bean to that also, for a total of 5 beans used in the recipe. This recipe makes a lot of filling, I made one cheesecake, 12 minis in a cupcake pan and still threw a little cream cheese mixture away. I had to make 1 2/3 recipes for the graham cracker crust so I had enough for the minis also. cheesecake is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The directions said bake for an hour twenty minutes. I kept it in the oven for an hour twenty five. .... At this point the center didnt seem jiggly so I figured it was done. Well it wasn't done enough to tast like cheesecake. It was kind of cottage cheesy and puddingy.....also I should have listened to others and added more vanilla bean. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was a creamy excellent cheesecake! I served it at an early Christmas gathering with friends. Everyone said that it was the best cheesecake they ever had and far surpassed those offered at restaurants. Really liked the cookie crust. I baked it an extra 20 minutes and the knife would never come out clean. The crust was a little over baked but not by much. I won't add the extra baking time again. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The flavor of this cheesecake is AMAZING!!! I over cooked it a little because I forgot to reduce the heat after I baked my crust (from another recipe) and it was still amazing!!!! I made it the night before eating it, and it was the perfect balance of vanilla and cream cheese, and didn't taste eggy at all. This is definitely my new go-to cheesecake! The vanilla beans are SO worth it! Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States