Vanilla Banana French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I didn't add the sugar, as I had ripe bananas and felt the sugar would make it too sweet and I added a 1/4 c. of milk because it was a little too thick to dip. I mushed the banana and spread it on the bread before I dipped it in the egg wash, so the bananas wouldn't fall out when my kids ate them. I had small slices sandwich bread, so one large banana was sufficient for two french toast sandwiches. I think I might add a little nutmeg next time and cut back on the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Used Apriva sugar instead of white sugar, adding 1/2 the amount of the white stuff. After frying toast, it was not as sweet as I expected it to be. As Lambchop's Mom suggested, I added a pinch of nutmeg plus 1/4 cup of milk because egg wash was too thick. Next time, I'll try white sugar since there is not much in the recipe. A lover of extra crunchy peanut butter I spread it among the scrambled eggs (on 2nd try, I'll spread on toast first then add eggs and thinly sliced bananas). Not being fond of pancake syrup (too sweet for me), I drizzled homemade strawberry syrup on and topped with a few sliced strawberries. I didn't lick plate clean like Stevie's dad did, so will try making again and hope for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Seemed a little bland for me. Not my kind of French Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I didn't have bananas so I improvised. I mixed one egg with a dash of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp and 1/8 tsp of vanilla extract and a spray of butter spray. I dipped the bread in it then after spraying the pan I threw the bread in. It tasted pretty good. After I plated it, I sprinkled a dash of white sugar and drizzled some syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie5251996

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
i love this recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I put thin slices of banana on a piece of bread, leaving a half-inch free around the edge which I brushed with the egg mix before topping with the second piece of bread. I used a fork to seal the edges from both sides, then coated and put in the pan. Did not cook remaining egg mix but instead made 2 stuffed toasts (one for me, one for hubby). Also added some cardamom because I love it. Yummy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I wanted to cook banana french toast and this is one of the recipes I found. Over all it was pretty good, but I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I was cooking for 3 so I used 4 eggs, but didn't double everything else. I only used 1/2 TBSP of cinnamon. that just really sounded like a lot of cinnamon to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I must say, I wasn't expecting this to be as good as it was! I really thought the amount of cinnamon was too much, and the color of the eggs was offputting. But it turned out sweet and very filling. I tried to lighten it some by using Splenda for the sugar, 45 calorie a slice wheat bread, 1/2 a banana, and cooking spray for the oil. This would be even better (but not lighter) with the addition of a thin layer of peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
A delicious filling breakfast for one! I mashed the banana and didn't need all of it and used a pre-made cinnamon sugar mixture I had leftover. Yum! I'll definitely remember this and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
So quick, so simple, so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States