Vanilla and Chocolate Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made this for many years for my daughters b'day. We loved it! I like the addition of the crunch bars...will surely try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is really good, but I really love it by using 2 packages of pistachio pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I've been making this for years a little differently. First the cream cheese layer is put on before AND after the pudding layer, so those ingredients would be doubled. Also, I only use chocolate pudding, 3 small boxes of instant chocolate pudding with the 3 cups of milk. So it's the crust, cream cheese layer, pudding, cream cheese layer and then topped with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baylorlana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cleburne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I have made a very similar recipe for years for Thanksgiving under the name of Chocolate Divine. My recipe has one major difference which may explain why some people have a problem with the crust burning. My recipe calls for a full stick of butter which is not melted but rather "cut" into the flour mixture and then the nuts added. This gives the crust a wonderful pecan sandie type crust. Also I top mine with toasted finely chopped pecans instead of candy which gives it a more "gourmet" look and taste. When people ask for the recipe they are amazed that it is made with such non gourmet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carefree, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
LOVE IT! I first had this when my sister-in-law that I rarely get to see made some during a visit in 04. This ended up being one of those two gals sitting at the kitchen table with the casserole dish and two spoons chatting away. I have made it several times in the five years since. Every time to rave reviews. I do check the crust at 5-10 minute intervals due to burning it on a couple of occasions. Also I leave out the crumbled topping, it is so rich without it. But still extremely yummy, truly a delight to the tounge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Perfection! The entire dish was devoured in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Woodard
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is very similar to a dish I have been making for years, except that it is called Chocolate Lush and calls for walnuts instead of pecans. It can also be made with lemon pudding instead and topped with nuts. I recently made it with peanuts in the crust instead of pecans and topped it with chopped peanut butter cups. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I love this recipe and so do all of my family and friends! I don't use the vanilla - just the chocolate! Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. McKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I made this one for a dinner party without trying it out first( yikes) You can imagine my relief when it was such a hit that within 15 mins the entire dish was empty. It was simply DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
My family loved this! I did use Pecan Sandies as the bottom crust, I think that made it much better. I like the fact that it was not just chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States