Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very good recipe as is. I thought the chocolate flavor was a bit on the light side so I doubled the cocoa and milk. Not too dark and not too light, just right. I mixed for about 4 minutes, until the color changes from dark to light. 2 notes: 1. Sift the cocoa and sugar together and the frosting will be super duper smooth. 2. Add just a pinch of salt if you are using UNSALTED butter. Salt enhances the chocolate flavor. There's my 2 cents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I used a 1.5 tsp of cocoa and 1 3/4 tsp of vanilla - this icing turned out fantastic!! A very vanilla frosting with a hint of cocoa =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzznit79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This recipe is by far the best frosting! I've used it on cake, cookies, and an eclair dessert. Consistency needs to be adjusted with the varying items with a little more or less milk depending on what I make. But, I use this recipe every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I agree with another reviewer that this does not make 3 cups. It barely covered the top of one 9" round cake. Still, it's very good. It does come out extremely soft and spreadable. If you're putting plastic decorations atop the cake, they will sink down into this very malleable frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I've been making powdered sugar frosting since I was a young girl, but I never measured the ingredients before. I just mixed some powdered sugar and butter, then added too much milk, then added more powdered sugar, then added too much milk...You get the idea! I learned early to add the milk just a little bit at a time. Today I made this to use on the train cake that is on the video for my grandson's birthday, so I measured. I had to make 3 batches, and they were great. I used exactly 1 TBS. milk to 2 cups powdered sugar. I mixed it with an electric mixer and it was a snap. From now on, I'll measure! By the way, any leftover frosting was always used to frost graham crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was so good and fluffy I ate most of it before my cupcakes were done! I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder and used land o lakes salted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Pretty good! Turned out a little thin but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Very delicious! Rich and moist-- I wanted to eat it all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Love it for its simplicity! I used 3 T cocoa per other reviews. Fast, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I modified this recipe since I didn't have milk or butter. I used butter flavored Crisco and 2 tablespoon of water as substitutes. It actually came out great, I was happily surprised that it did. I live in Texas and I know of many who use Crisco to make icing because of the higher melting point, but this was the first time I had tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States