Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I'm so glad I found this excellent frosting recipe! It tastes just like Grandma's & is so easy to make. I will absolutely keep this recipe to use again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This was a great recipe. I didn't have any milk and I too used coffee creamer (French Vanilla). I was a little skeptical at first but it turned out great. It was very fluffy. I only added 1 tablespoon of the creamer. I think that might be the key between the fluffy vs pudding consistency; use less liquid for fluffy. When I was making it, there didn't seem to be enough of it, but I used it to frost about 24 cookies generously, more than I thought. I also used green food coloring. This is a good basic, sweet frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulofgrace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Simple, easy and delicious! However, I'd suggest making twice as much if you are going to frost and fill a 9" cake. I don't understand what people are saying about the pudding consistency. I had no butter so I used margarine, and it was still wasn't runny. Maybe they are comparing it to canned frosting, but as homemade frostings go, it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
Thank you so much for this easy recipe.I am not much of a cook,last week my son wanted me to bake a cake.I had a chocolate cake mix,so I made that but had no frosting!I found your recipe ,and everyone loved it.Much better than store bought, it took about 3 minutes to make. I will definitely make this again.Next time i'll try chocolate.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made it without the chocolate, and it was some of the best frosting I've ever had. Simple, yet soooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Made this recipe using margarine and soy milk, added a pinch of salt as suggested this stuff is great! the full recipe covered a 9x9 pan of brownies perfectly. Came out a light butter color. Better than from the can, YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Very easy to make. No problem with the consistency, but others might have had a problem if the butter was melted or didn't mix long enough. Mom's tip is to add a touch of salt to help even out the sweetness. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Just like everyone before me says just perfection. I loved the way it dried enough that you can stack them but not hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Woodard
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I have never made homemade frosting. This was easy and great! I feel like a pro. Thanks Thanks Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
You can substitute butter flavored Crisco for the butter in this recipe. Simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States