Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I also use the same basic recipes for other flavors. Play around with it. It is delicious. My favorite now is lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Thank you so much for this, I am not the greatest chef or baker I am a mom of 4 and need the most help I can. I love to give treats for my children to share with the kids in their classes for special occasions. Tonight I realized that my Daughter's class was celebrating Summer birthdays before the school year ends and I wanted to take part since her birthday is in August. I had no Icing though. Had no spare change to buy any and it was to late before I got the note. So I thought maybe I could try and make it myself. I found this website and found the recipe first and thought I should try it. All I have to say is WOW very delicious the kids are going to enjoy these very much and I thank you for your contribution to this web site.. You saved me.. LOL Also I will never buy icing EVER again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamauf4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is good and easy to make. It didn't get five stars just because it wasn't anything totally amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drama4Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
so basic, soooo delicious. I made this to top somecupcakes that are in the oven now, but I might just eat the whole bowl before I get to use it as topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is a great quick frosting. FYI, I didn't have cocoa powder so I zapped 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips in the microwave for 2 mins on medium heat and added them after when beating the butter, sugar, and vanilla. You can add a tiny bit more milk if you find the chips make it too thick. But chocolate flavor came out great. This frosting is on the sweeter side, for sure, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I left out the vanilla and substituted maple flavoring instead. Used it on top of a chocolate sour cream cake. It was delicious! Very easy frosting to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Made this tonight with the cocoa for 9X13 MMMmmm Chocolate Cake from this site. Frosting is easy and quick to put together. Didn't even need all of the milk. I think I just used less than a tablespoon. Not too sweet. Just right. I will be making this frosting again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Fantastic, easy and tastes GREAT!! I opted for the chocolate version and used this to frost Dark Chocolate Cake II from this site - wonderful combination! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This frosting is delicious! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder. Added milk by the teaspoon until it was the consistency I wanted. Turned out perfect! This was enough frosting for about 21 cupcakes, so I would double the recipe if frosting a layer cake. Will definitely use this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States