Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Based on one of the reviews, reviews, I added 1/2 cup cream cheese, the cocoa powder, and almond essence. It was extremely delicious and the perfect texture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very easy, but on the sweet side. If I make it again, I will up the butter and lessen the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Easy to make and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is delicious! I added the cocoa powder. I actually used 3 tablespoons because I wanted a stronger chocolate flavor. This frosting is very thick, fluffy and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have used this recipe for my Christmas sugar cookies for 30 years. I love it because it holds the decorations and sugars so well and people fight over my Christmas plate of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This recipe is delicious and easy to make. I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very good recipe as is. I thought the chocolate flavor was a bit on the light side so I doubled the cocoa and milk. Not too dark and not too light, just right. I mixed for about 4 minutes, until the color changes from dark to light. 2 notes: 1. Sift the cocoa and sugar together and the frosting will be super duper smooth. 2. Add just a pinch of salt if you are using UNSALTED butter. Salt enhances the chocolate flavor. There's my 2 cents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I used a 1.5 tsp of cocoa and 1 3/4 tsp of vanilla - this icing turned out fantastic!! A very vanilla frosting with a hint of cocoa =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzznit79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This recipe is by far the best frosting! I've used it on cake, cookies, and an eclair dessert. Consistency needs to be adjusted with the varying items with a little more or less milk depending on what I make. But, I use this recipe every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I agree with another reviewer that this does not make 3 cups. It barely covered the top of one 9" round cake. Still, it's very good. It does come out extremely soft and spreadable. If you're putting plastic decorations atop the cake, they will sink down into this very malleable frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States