Val's Spicy Baked Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wow, this was delicious! I left out the crushed red pepper flakes and the spice level was perfect for us. I served this over pasta but there was way too much sauce, so next time I will serve it with french bread for dipping. Thanks Valorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was a suggestion for Recipe Group which is how I came across a most flavorful new way to prepare shrimp. I was only feeding two of us so I played with the quantities a bit, cutting the shrimp, bacon and butter to 1/3 and eyeballing the other ingredients. I really wasn't sure about the mustard, but I used everything and it is wonderful. You can taste each layer of flavor but nothing over takes the others. I cooked the bacon and herbs in a cast iron skillet so instead of transferring it to a baking dish, I just made sure each shrimp was well coated and put the whole thing in the preheated oven. It smelled so enticing! I served it over whole wheat farfalle, but next time I think I will serve it over crusty French bread. The sauce is too good to leave any uneaten. Thanks Valorie, this is a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
If prepared as written I can't imagine giving this recipe a rating higher than three stars. The shrinp would be swimming in butter (pun intended) if you used as much as directed. Moreover, since the main ingredient in Old Bay is celery salt, I would strongly advise not using the full amount. I used a little better than half the spice mixture called for and it was terribly salty. I'm glad I sprinkled it on the shrimp rather than adding it to the sauce so that I could get a better idea of just how much seasoning was being used. This unquestionably was a great blend of herbs and spices (tho' I did omit the red pepper flakes in consideration of Hubs' sensitive innards) and the bacon, of course, made its own, wonderful and unique flavor contribution. Back off on both the butter and the Old Bay (at least START with less anyway, and see what you think) and this is a solid four star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
It seems like there's way too much butter in this recipe, is it just me? I used half the butter and stayed true to everything else. Served it over thin spaghetti, this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Really good. Worth making again. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My Husband said it wad the best thing I have ever made! I used Jack Daniel's mustard, Marsala wine and added 1tsp smoked paprika. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Absolutely beautiful. Perfectly seasoned (with unsalted butter) I had a package of real bacon bits I wanted to use up so I quickly crisped them (there was no bacon fat to speak of)and then followed the recipe. I added some simple crab stuffed pepperdews and some whole hearts of palm to the pan. I broiled for the last few minutes and served with lots of warm French bread to soak up the butter sauce. So naughty but so very nice! I'm going to take up jogging just so I can have this once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this with 1/2 cup butter and omitted the wine, but it was really, really good! We all enjoyed it, even our 6 and 8 year old. We made it with penne pasta on the side, but realized that if you mix it all together it was so much better...definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Wow was this good! I made it with large shrimp and only used 1 stick of butter and 1 teaspoon of old bay. Served it with a yummy cheese baguette from the bakery and fresh corn on the cobb. I always make Paula Deen's fiery cajun shrimp but this was even better than that and we love her shrimp. The sauce in this recipe is to die for. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I submitted this recipe, which I just made again at my uncle's request. I cut the butter to 1/2 cup. (Really doesn't need 3/4, looking back...) Was almost sorry to give Uncle the entire amount, it smelled so good! And thanks to the reviews, also bought him some French bread to go with the shrimp. Time to make some for my husband and myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States