Val's Spicy Baked Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wow, this was delicious! I left out the crushed red pepper flakes and the spice level was perfect for us. I served this over pasta but there was way too much sauce, so next time I will serve it with french bread for dipping. Thanks Valorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My Husband said it wad the best thing I have ever made! I used Jack Daniel's mustard, Marsala wine and added 1tsp smoked paprika. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
It seems like there's way too much butter in this recipe, is it just me? I used half the butter and stayed true to everything else. Served it over thin spaghetti, this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
If prepared as written I can't imagine giving this recipe a rating higher than three stars. The shrinp would be swimming in butter (pun intended) if you used as much as directed. Moreover, since the main ingredient in Old Bay is celery salt, I would strongly advise not using the full amount. I used a little better than half the spice mixture called for and it was terribly salty. I'm glad I sprinkled it on the shrimp rather than adding it to the sauce so that I could get a better idea of just how much seasoning was being used. This unquestionably was a great blend of herbs and spices (tho' I did omit the red pepper flakes in consideration of Hubs' sensitive innards) and the bacon, of course, made its own, wonderful and unique flavor contribution. Back off on both the butter and the Old Bay (at least START with less anyway, and see what you think) and this is a solid four star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was a suggestion for Recipe Group which is how I came across a most flavorful new way to prepare shrimp. I was only feeding two of us so I played with the quantities a bit, cutting the shrimp, bacon and butter to 1/3 and eyeballing the other ingredients. I really wasn't sure about the mustard, but I used everything and it is wonderful. You can taste each layer of flavor but nothing over takes the others. I cooked the bacon and herbs in a cast iron skillet so instead of transferring it to a baking dish, I just made sure each shrimp was well coated and put the whole thing in the preheated oven. It smelled so enticing! I served it over whole wheat farfalle, but next time I think I will serve it over crusty French bread. The sauce is too good to leave any uneaten. Thanks Valorie, this is a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Really good. Worth making again. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I submitted this recipe, which I just made again at my uncle's request. I cut the butter to 1/2 cup. (Really doesn't need 3/4, looking back...) Was almost sorry to give Uncle the entire amount, it smelled so good! And thanks to the reviews, also bought him some French bread to go with the shrimp. Time to make some for my husband and myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is amazingly delicious. You might want to bear a few things in mind, though: 1. That is way too much butter. I'd suggest coating the pan w a tablespoon, but only if you use precooked bacon like I did. I doubt you even need butter if you cook the bacon in the skillet. 2. Adjust the spice based on taste--there is no need to use 2 tbs of Old Bay and red pepper flakes if you aren't a spicy food lover. And 3. If you use an oven safe skillet like I did, you don't need to dirty more dishes. I have an oven safe skillet just for recipes like this. I used 1 tbs of Old Bay, 1 tbs margarine, prawns, left out the red pepper flakes, and used Marsala wine since that is what I had open. This turned out fantastic. I loved it! I served over pasta with bread, but as others have said, the sauce is the best part, so you'll want some crusty bread with pasta or rice for this--something that will absorb the awesome flavor of the sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My family loved this shrimp dish. Make it again is what I heard from my son and husband. Used 1/2 cup butter was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this with 1/2 cup butter and omitted the wine, but it was really, really good! We all enjoyed it, even our 6 and 8 year old. We made it with penne pasta on the side, but realized that if you mix it all together it was so much better...definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States