Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I don't know what I did wrong - I followed the recipe to the letter - but this was just horrible. I'm a big fan of chicken liver, but this tasted terrible. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Good, but, eh..probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I was a little disappointed, after reading such rave reviews. I followed the instructions (though I used regular paprika), and it got lukewarm comments at best. While it was ok, it wasn't outstanding as I thought it would be. I think the recipe serves far more than 8, and while I thought it would have been devoured at last night's dinner, I'm left with nearly the entire bowl this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
5 stars isn't enough! I made this for an appetizer and served with small pita breads and thinly sliced pumpernickel bread. I did omit the additional white onion and parsley in the mixture. My husband saw it in the fridge before the company got here and had a sandwich prior to dinner! He ate so much chicken liver that night, I thought he was going to grow feathers! Keeper? Definatly....and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Val, how do I thank you. My Jewish husband asked me to make chopped liver when we were planning to entertain some of our Jewish friends. I had never made any kind of liver, so I didn't even know where to begin. I found your recipe and followed it to the letter, even down to the Hungarian Paprika (which was wonderful). Everyone raved about the chopped liver, and there was not a drop left. I was worried when I saw the first person reach for the liver, but when she commented that it was wonderful, everyone stood at the dish, eating until it was gone. Thank You Val, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Looked for a good recipe for this forever, and this is it..Simply wonderful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I made this for my in-laws on Mother’s Day and it was a hit. The only thing I changed, to make this recipe more traditional, was I use chicken fat instead of oleo. My in-laws couldn’t get enough. It’s a little time consuming but worth every minute. I will definitely be making this again. My husband said, “It’s the best he’s ever had”!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This is an amazing recipe! I never thought I'd be able to top my mother's famous Jewish chopped liver, but, well, sorry mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
I tried this receipe and I liked it. but I make it without the eggs and it is really easy to prepare .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
traditional and delicious! This will easily serve 12 as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States