Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Val, how do I thank you. My Jewish husband asked me to make chopped liver when we were planning to entertain some of our Jewish friends. I had never made any kind of liver, so I didn't even know where to begin. I found your recipe and followed it to the letter, even down to the Hungarian Paprika (which was wonderful). Everyone raved about the chopped liver, and there was not a drop left. I was worried when I saw the first person reach for the liver, but when she commented that it was wonderful, everyone stood at the dish, eating until it was gone. Thank You Val, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very good. A couple of tips, soak your chicken livers in milk anywhere from 2 hours to overnight, it makes the flavor creamier and more delicate. I made this into a pate and i used a food processor, it is just easier. This recipes makes MUCH more than for 6 people, more like a small army of 30.I gave it away to neighbors and we still have a ton left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
this is fantastic but we put it on crackers or little pumpernickel bread love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
This is the real thing. Tastes just like my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
traditional and delicious! This will easily serve 12 as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This is an amazing recipe! I never thought I'd be able to top my mother's famous Jewish chopped liver, but, well, sorry mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I made this for my in-laws on Mother’s Day and it was a hit. The only thing I changed, to make this recipe more traditional, was I use chicken fat instead of oleo. My in-laws couldn’t get enough. It’s a little time consuming but worth every minute. I will definitely be making this again. My husband said, “It’s the best he’s ever had”!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
5 stars isn't enough! I made this for an appetizer and served with small pita breads and thinly sliced pumpernickel bread. I did omit the additional white onion and parsley in the mixture. My husband saw it in the fridge before the company got here and had a sandwich prior to dinner! He ate so much chicken liver that night, I thought he was going to grow feathers! Keeper? Definatly....and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe was wonderful! I have never been a fan of liver, but my husband always has been, so I thought I would try this for him. But this recipe actually won over my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Res

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
With out question, this is the chopped liver I had in PA when I was a kid! Rich and flavorful. I made this then went to the store for sandwhich fixens and a roast to make Beef Wellington with it tonite and good deli sandwiches for the week. It can be used as a Pate' it is so good. I like it a little more minced that the author but it's good either way. It makes a lot so plan on using it in more reciepts or having freinds over! Also, if you have pets, they will tackel you to get at it. The smell is that wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Mahaffey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States